Departments: Behavioral Health / Psychiatry

Assessment of Autism in Females and Nuanced Presentations: Integrating Research into Practice. 2023.

This book examines autism characteristics that may be different than expected (atypical), primarily found in females, but also in others and are likely to be missed or misdiagnosed when identification and support are needed. It follows a lifespan framework, guiding readers through comprehensive assessment processes at any age. The book integrates interpretations of standardized measures, information from scientific literature, and context from first-person accounts to provide a more nuanced and sensitive approach to assessment. It addresses implications for improved treatment and supports based on comprehensive assessment processes and includes case studies within each age range to consolidate and illustrate assessment processes.

Key areas of coverage include:

Interdisciplinary assessment processes, including psychology, speech and language pathology, education, and health care disciplines. Lifespan approach to comprehensive assessment of autism in females/atypical autism. Guide to interpretation of standardized measures in females/atypical autism. Additional assessment tools and processes to provide diagnostic clarity. Descriptions of barriers in diagnostic processes from first-person accounts. Intervention and support strategies tied to assessment data. In-depth explanations of evidence and at-a-glance summaries.

Clinical Textbook of Mood Disorders. 2024.

Mood disorders affect around 1 in 5 people, but the diagnosis and management of these conditions can be challenging. This practical handbook presents a comprehensive overview of these disorders, as well as detailed guidelines for their treatment. The handbook takes a transdisciplinary approach to mood disorders, focusing not only on the biological aspects but also on psychosocial features of importance for optimal diagnosis and management. Content covers nosological considerations, historical aspects, peculiarities along the lifespan, and the associations between mood disorders and other conditions, with a focus on their implications for the optimal management of patients. Practical and evidence-based information is discussed on the role of guidelines related to treatment in selected population groups, including youth, the elderly, and women. With a practical, reader-friendly approach, this book will be invaluable for mental health professionals involved in the treatment of patients with mood disorders, including trainees from different mental health areas.

A Cure for Darkness: The Story of Depression and How We Treat It

A fascinating, “rich, and generous” (Financial Times) look at the treatment of depression by an award-winning science writer that blends popular science, narrative history, and memoir.

Is depression a persistent low mood, or is it a range of symptoms? Can it be expressed through a single diagnosis, or does depression actually refer to a diversity of mental disorders? Is there, or will there ever be, a cure? In seeking the answers to these questions, Riley finds a rich history of ideas and treatments—and takes the reader on a gripping narrative journey, packed with fascinating stories like the junior doctor who discovered that some of the first antidepressants had a deadly reaction with cheese.

“Interweaving memoir, case histories, and accounts of new therapies, Riley anatomizes what is still a fairly young science, and a troubled one” (The New Yorker). Reporting on the field of global mental health from its colonial past to the present day, Riley highlights a range of scalable therapies, including how a group of grandmothers stands on the frontline of a mental health revolution.

DSM-5-TR Clinical Cases. 2023.

DSM-5-TR Clinical Cases presents patient cases that exemplify the mental disorders categorized in DSM-5-TR, bringing DSM-5-TR alive for teachers and students of psychiatry, psychology, social work, nursing, and related mental health and healthcare fields. With chapters that correspond to the main DSM-5-TR diagnostic categories (i.e., the first 19 chapters in Section II), this book guides the reader through the complexities of clinical assessment and the many types of contextual information needed to obtain a full diagnostic picture of a patient.

Treatment of Posttraumatic Stress Disorder in Serious Mental Illness: The Cognitive Restructuring Program. 2025.

This book is a practical guide to the evidence-based Cognitive Restructuring (CR) for PTSD program, which has been specifically designed to meet the unique needs of people with serious mental illness.

Posttraumatic stress disorder (PTSD) is very common among persons with serious mental illness (SMI). Unfortunately, it often leads to more severe psychiatric symptoms, greater impairment in psychosocial functioning, poorer physical health, and a higher use of acute care services among people with SMI. Yet despite major advances in the treatment of PTSD in the general population, PTSD has remained underdiagnosed and under-addressed among people with SMI, and treatments for this population have been relatively neglected.

This practical, hands-on guide gives clinicians the tools they need for screening, detecting, and treating PTSD in their clients with SMI, including schizophrenia, bipolar disorder, major depression, and borderline personality disorder. Chapters summarize research and theory regarding the interaction between PTSD and SMI, provide nuts and bolts strategies for implementing the authors' Cognitive Restructuring for PTSD program, and offer guidance for overcoming clinical challenges to trauma treatment such as psychotic symptoms, low distress tolerance, emotion dysregulation, hopelessness, and cognitive impairment. Chapters also feature in-session dialogues with case vignettes that follow three unique clients as they participate in the CR for PTSD program.
 

Handbook of Applied Behavior Analysis for Children with Autism: Clinical Guide to Assessment and Treatment. 2023.

The handbook examines the latest advancements in applied behavior analysis (ABA) as the preferred method of treatment for children diagnosed with autism spectrum disorder (ASD). It synthesizes the most current research data and trends with best-practice interventions to form a comprehensive, state-of-the-art resource. The handbook reviews ABA research and practices in depth and identifies the interventions most relevant to children across the autism spectrum.

Clinical Depression: An Individualized, Biopsychosocial Approach to Assessment and Treatment. 2024.

This book offers integrative treatments for clinical depression based on the biopsychosocial model. Keith Dobson synthesizes decades of research and professional experience in this comprehensive guide that follows the therapy process from beginning to end. He starts with a theoretical overview of depression, including its associated features, risk and resiliency factors, and offers a comparative evaluation of various models of depression. Clinical chapters review the intake process, from the initial interview, to formulating an early case conceptualization and ensuring the client's involvement. Dobson then presents an organizational model to determine which issues to focus on in therapy, and the optimal interventions to address them. He also describes common strategies to target problematic behaviors and cognitions, develop problem-solving skills, and modify maladaptive thoughts and schemas. Guidelines for ending therapy and preventing relapse are also provided, as are considerations related to comorbid disorders, clients' relationships with significant others, and in-person vs. distance treatment. Recurring case examples with two hypothetical clients help to demonstrate the entire process for assessing, conceptualizing, and treating clinical depression.

Eating Disorders: A Comprehensive Guide to Medical Care and Complications, 4th ed. 2022.

A comprehensive guide on how to diagnose, treat, and care for those with eating disorders. Eating disorders, which include such conditions as anorexia, bulimia, binge eating, and pica, represent a challenge to both patients and health care providers alike. For more than 20 years, health care providers have turned to the expert advice found in Eating Disorders to keep up to date with the latest research in the field and to help them provide the best care available for their patients. In this new, thoroughly revised and expanded edition of their best-selling work, Drs. Philip S. Mehler and Arnold E. Andersen provide a user-friendly and comprehensive guide to treating and managing eating disorders for primary care physicians, mental health professionals, worried family members and friends, and nonmedical professionals (such as teachers and coaches). Mehler and Andersen

• identify common medical complications faced by people who have eating disorders
• answer questions about how to treat both physical and behavioral aspects of eating disorders
• discuss serious complications, including cardiac arrhythmia, electrolyte abnormalities, and gastrointestinal problems
• incorporate all-new information on avoidant restrictive food intake disorder (ARFID), binge eating disorder, and the role of social media in promoting disordered eating
• offer targeted advice for working with specialists
• include four new chapters on eating disorders in children and adolescents; atypical anorexia; eating disorders in transgender individuals; and family therapy
• feature engaging clinical vignettes
• answer a list of common questions practitioners may have in each chapter

The Handbook of Trauma-Transformative Practice: Emerging Therapeutic Frameworks for Supporting Individuals, Families or Communities Impacted by Abuse and Violence. 2024.

The definitive Handbook of Trauma-Transformative Practice brings together the work of leading international trauma experts to provide a detailed overview of trauma-informed practice and intervention: its history, the latest frameworks for practice and an inspiring vision for future trauma-transformative practice. The Handbook is interdisciplinary, incorporating trauma research, interpersonal neuroscience, the historical and continuing experiences of victims and survivors, and insights from practitioners. It addresses a range of current issues spanning polyvagal theory, the social brain, oxytocin and the healing power of love, and the neuropsychological roots of shame. It also considers trauma through the lens of communities, with chapters on healing inter/transgenerational trauma and building communities' capacity to end interpersonal violence. Furthermore the Handbook makes the case for a new way of thinking about trauma - trauma transformative practice. One which is founded on the principle of working with the whole person and as part of a network of relationships, rather than focusing on symptoms to improve practice, healing and recovery.

The American Psychiatric Association Publishing Textbook of Mood Disorders, 2nd ed. 2022.

This new edition of The American Psychiatric Association Publishing Textbook of Mood Disorders is a systematic and painstaking reconceptualization of its predecessor. Under new editorial direction and with a revised roster of expert contributors, the second edition is an utterly current, clinically competent, and comprehensive text that will become an instant classic. The book is structured for learning and easy reference, moving deftly from symptomatology and epidemiology to pathogenesis and on to somatic interventions, cognitive-behavioral interventions, and psychotherapy. The latest science on genetics and epigenetics, brain imaging, and neurobiology are also examined in depth. Critically important to the clinician is the section on management of mood disorders, which provides treatment guidelines for major depressive disorder and bipolar disorder, as well as information on understanding, and preventing, suicide in children, adolescents, and adults. Finally, perspectives are offered on depression among women, children, and geriatric patients, as well as on depression across cultures. Practicing psychiatrists, residents, and students alike will benefit from the book's inclusive coverage.

Oxford Handbook of Addiction Medicine, 3rd ed. 2024.

Psychoactive substance use ranks among the five top risk factors contributing to the global burden of disease. Substance use disorders can cause, mimic, underlie, or complicate a large number of medical and psychiatric conditions. In recent years, there has been a rapid increase in non-substance forms of addiction such as gambling, internet gaming, and various other behavioral addictions. The ability to diagnose addictive disorders and initiate appropriate management is a responsibility for all health professionals. Addiction Medicine, now in its third edition and published in the renowned Oxford Medical Handbook series, is the result of many years' preparation by a group of colleagues who are clinicians, teachers, and researchers in the addictive disorders field. The handbook is a contemporary, broadly-based, and clinically grounded text that summarizes the scientific basis and practice of addiction medicine. It provides practical guidance on clinical management but with a sound background of pharmacology, neurobiology, psychology, and epidemiology and public health. It seeks to provide approaches to minimizing harm from psychoactive substances and addictive behaviors, both at an individual and a societal level. The new edition has been expanded greatly. In addition to the behavioral addictions, it covers a broader range of psychoactive substances. There are new chapters on Screening and brief interventions and on Digital health approaches.

Neurodiversity-Affirming Psychotherapy: Clinical Pathways to Autistic Mental Health. 2025.

Neurodiversity-Affirming Psychotherapy: Clinical Pathways to Autistic Mental Health provides an attachment-based framework within which clinicians can support autistic/neurodivergent clients to benefit from effective, trauma-informed psychotherapy.

This book builds upon practice-based evidence to guide neurotypical psychotherapists in case conceptualization and treatment planning for autistic/neurodivergent individuals, many of whom received behaviour modification rather than psychotherapy to address mental health needs in childhood.

Widening the lens on autistic wellbeing, the author addresses multiple features of diagnosed and undiagnosed neurodivergence, highlighting the pivotal elements of communication, sensory processing, and executive functioning, and emphasizing secure attachment relationships as foundational to mental health. Throughout the book, the neurodiversity-affirming approach and framework are illuminated through clinical examples.

This book delivers practical guidance and clinical insight, offering therapists a clear understanding of the mental health issues commonly experienced by autistic/neurodivergent adults, and guiding them and their clients along a robust pathway to autistic mental health.

DSM-5-TR Casebook and Treatment Guide for Child Mental Health. 2025.

Building on the 2017 DSM-5 edition, this guide helps bridge the gap between research and practical application. It incorporates updates and advances from DSM-5-TR as well as evidence-based assessment and treatment of children's mental health. The book is designed to be an indispensable reference and a teaching tool for trainees and clinicians of child and adolescent psychiatry, including mental health counselors, social workers, psychiatrists, psychologists, and nurse clinicians.

A roster of more than 120 field-leading contributors lend their expertise in 28 realistic case studies, each accompanied by commentaries that offer diverse perspectives on treatment approaches, from the psychotherapeutic to the psychopharmacological. The studies correspond to four categories:

1. Classic cases that include ADHD, major depressive disorder, and anorexia nervosa

2. Comorbid complexities, such as children with multiple disorders or language and reading difficulties and adolescents who have misused prescription medications

3. Toughest cases, which include nonsuicidal self-injury and children and adolescents at high risk for developing psychosis

4. Kids in crisis, which examines young patients who have psychopathology in the context of extreme psychosocial stressors

DSM-5-TR, 5th ed. text revision. 2022.

The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, Text Revision (DSM-5-TR), is the most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers. DSM-5-TR includes the fully revised text and references, updated diagnostic criteria and ICD-10-CM codes since DSM-5 was published in 2013. It features a new disorder, Prolonged Grief Disorder, as well as codes for suicidal behavior available to all clinicians of any discipline without the requirement of any other diagnosis.

Healing Complex Posttraumatic Stress Disorder: A Clinician's Guide, 2021.

This book is a clinician's guide to understanding, diagnosing, treating, and healing complex posttraumatic stress disorder (C-PTSD). C-PTSD, a diagnostic entity to be included in ICD-11 in 2022, denotes a severe form of posttraumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and is the result of prolonged and repeated interpersonal trauma.
The author provides guidance on healing complex trauma through phase-oriented, multimodal, and skill-focused treatment approaches, with a core emphasis on symptom relief and functional improvement. Readers will gain familiarity with the integrative healing techniques and modalities that are currently being utilized as evidence-based treatments, including innovative multi-sensory treatments for trauma, in addition to learning more about posttraumatic growth and resilience.

The ASAM Principles of Addiction Medicine, 2025

Principles of Addiction Medicine, 7th ed is a fully reimagined resource, integrating the latest advancements and research in addiction treatment. Prepared for physicians in internal medicine, psychiatry, and nearly every medical specialty, the 7th edition is the most comprehensive publication in addiction medicine. It offers detailed information to help physicians navigate addiction treatment for all patients, not just those seeking treatment for SUDs. Published by the American Society of Addiction Medicine and edited by Shannon C. Miller, MD, Richard N. Rosenthal, MD, Sharon Levy, MD, Andrew J. Saxon, MD, Jeanette M. Tetrault, MD, and Sarah E. Wakeman, MD, this edition is a testament to the collective experience and wisdom of 350 medical, research, and public health experts in the field. The exhaustive content, now in vibrant full color, bridges science and medicine and offers new insights and advancements for evidence-based treatment of SUDs. This foundational textbook for medical students, residents, and addiction medicine/addiction psychiatry fellows, medical libraires and institution, also serves as a comprehensive reference for everyday clinical practice and policymaking.

Music and Mind, 2024

"This book inspires us all to immerse ourselves in the vast potential of music and other creative arts to heal our wounds, sharpen our minds, enliven our bodies, and restore our broken connections." --Bessel van der Kolk, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Body Keeps the Score World-renowned soprano and arts/health advocate Rene Fleming curates a collection of essays from leading scientists, artists, creative arts therapists, educators, and healthcare providers about the powerful impacts of music and the arts on health and the human experience.

Shaping the Future of Child and Adolescent Mental Health, 2023

Shaping the Future of Child and Adolescent Mental Health: Towards Technological Advances and Service Innovations coincides with the 25th International Association for Child and Adolescent Psychiatry and Allied Professions (IACAPAP) Congress in Dubai from December 5-9, 2022. There are three overarching themes of this book. Firstly, the impact of the Internet and digital technologies on the mental health and well-being of children and adolescents, including computerized therapies, and the fundamental role of technologies to advance knowledge in the field. Secondly, a theme on harnessing the expansion of knowledge on psychiatric disorders and their treatment for children and adolescents, exemplified by chapters on different kinds of adversity in child and adolescent mental health and a chapter on precision therapeutics. Given the location of the IACAPAP Congress, the third theme focuses on aspects of child and adolescent mental health in the Eastern Mediterranean Region. Chapters provide insights into a broad range of contemporary technology- and service innovation-related topics in child and adolescent psychiatry and mental health.

Foundations of Mental Health Care, 2023

Gain the knowledge and skills you need to care for clients with mental health disorders! Foundations of Mental Health Care, 8th Edition uses an easy-to-read, multidisciplinary approach to describe the treatment of clients with a wide range of maladaptive behaviors. Ideal for LPN/LVNs and other caregivers, this guide provides concise coverage of issues and principles, therapeutic interventions, mental health problems throughout the lifecycle, and specific psychological and psychosocial conditions. This edition is updated with the latest information on violence, suicide, substance abuse, and more. Written by expert educator Michelle Morrison-Valfre, this resource helps you master skills in mental health assessment, effective communication, and the therapeutic relationship. DSM-5 criteria are used in the descriptions of all mental health disorders

Kaplan and Sadock's Concise Textbook of Clinical Psychiatry, 2023

Succinct, authoritative, and affordable, Kaplan & Sadock's Concise Textbook of Psychiatry, 5th Edition, provides must-know information in clinical psychiatry from the names you trust. From cover to cover, it contains the most relevant clinical material from the bestselling Kaplan and Sadock's Synopsis of Psychiatry, 12th Edition, including the foundational chapters on assessment, the disorder specific chapters, and all of the treatment-specific chapters among other essential topics such as emergency psychiatry, ethics, and palliative/end-of-life care. New editors Robert Boland and Marcia L. Verduin, along with consulting editor Pedro Ruiz, have updated all content with a focus on reformatting and summarizing for faster access to key information. Provides concise but thorough coverage of the entire field of clinical psychiatry, including biologic, psychologic, and sociologic factors in health and disease.

Military Psychology, 2022

With more than 60% new material reflecting advances in evidence-based treatments and the evolving roles of military mental health providers, the authoritative resource in the field is now in a significantly revised third edition. The volume provides research-based roadmaps for prevention and intervention with service members and veterans in a wide range of settings. Up-to-date information about military procedures and guidelines is included throughout. Grounded in current knowledge about stress and resilience, chapters describe best practices in treating such challenges as depression, anxiety disorders, posttraumatic stress disorder, and substance use disorders. Also addressed are operational functions of psychologists in personnel assessment and selection, counterintelligence, and other areas.

Acute Psychiatric Emergencies, 2020

Acute Psychiatric Emergencies is designed for all medical and healthcare professionals working with patients in mental health crisis. This manual is a key component of the Acute Psychiatric Emergencies (APEx) course, which uses a structured approach developed by leading psychiatry and emergency medicine specialists with years of practical experience. This valuable resource provides a practical approach for dealing with mental health emergencies, helping healthcare professionals from different specialties speak a common language and develop a shared understanding that expedites excellent care. The manual outlines the assessment and management of patients who have self-harmed, those that are apparently drunk, the patient behaving strangely, the patient with acute confusion, and those that are aggressive.

The ASAM Essentials of Addiction Medicine

Derived from ASAM's definitive work, Principles of Addiction Medicine, 6th Edition, this companion resource is ideal for residents, fellows, and practitioners in psychiatry, as well as addiction medicine specialists and other healthcare workers who provide care to patients with substance use disorders. Streamlined and easy to use, the Essentials volume provides authoritative information on everything from the pharmacology of addiction through diagnosis, assessment, and early intervention--all in concise, easy-to-navigate format for ease of reference. Presents the collective wisdom of hundreds of esteemed authorities on the art and science of addiction medicine, including the physical, emotional, and mental health effects of substance misuse. Features key points, review questions, and suggested readings that help maximize understanding and retention of essential concepts.

Kaplan and Sadock's Pocket Handbook of Psychiatric Drug Treatment, 2024

Now in vibrant full color, Kaplan and Sadock's Pocket Handbook of Psychiatric Drug Treatment, 8th Edition, remains your reference of choice for easy-to-find information on the full spectrum of psychiatric drug therapies. Written by Dr. Samoon Ahmad, this trusted resource provides a wealth of data for each drug, presenting information in a clear, concise manner for quick, efficient retrieval. This edition brings you fully up to date in the field, with new information on cannabis, psychedelics, psychotropic medicines and medical comorbidities, genetics and pharmacogenomics testing, and more.

Keltner's Psychiatric Nursing, 2023

Gain the skills you need to provide safe and effective psychiatric nursing care! Keltner's Psychiatric Nursing, 9th Edition provides a solid foundation in the knowledge required to manage and care for patients with psychiatric disorders. It features a unique, three-pronged approach to psychotherapeutic management emphasizing the nurse's three primary tools: themselves and their relationship with patients, medications, and the therapeutic environment. New to this edition are Next Generation NCLEX® exam-style case studies to help you learn clinical judgment and prepare for success on the NCLEX. Known for its clear and friendly writing style, this text covers psychiatric nursing like no other book on the market. UNIQUE! Practical, three-pronged approach to psychotherapeutic management includes: 1) the therapeutic nurse-patient relationship, 2) psychopharmacology, and 3) milieu management.

Talking about Sexual Assault, 2023

This second edition provides a comprehensive, social ecological review of women's rape and sexual assault disclosures and how support providers can better respond to them and challenge rape culture. Women who have been raped and sexually assaulted are often retraumatized by negative social reactions from family and friends, healthcare professionals, institutions, and society at large. Sarah Ullman educates supporters on more appropriate responses that empower survivors and help them heal.

Positive Health, 2023

This comprehensive compendium offers a wealth of research-informed tools that can boost both physical and mental wellbeing throughout the lifespan. Filled with more than 100 activities to help you live life better, this book is the first of its kind to integrate the latest research from the fields of positive psychology and lifestyle medicine. Striking a careful balance between theory and practice, the book first reviews what is known about positive psychology and health, presenting a novel approach to holistic wellbeing. It then goes on to provide more than 100 tools designed to increase physical, mental and social health and wellbeing, and also to decrease the risk of illness and disease

Textbook of Women's Reproductive Mental Health, 2022

Finally--a definitive guide to women's reproductive mental health. The Textbook of Women's Reproductive Mental Health is the first comprehensive text for understanding, diagnosing, and supporting the unique mental health needs of women and others who undergo female reproductive transitions during their entire reproductive life cycle. Based on the award-winning National Curriculum in Reproductive Psychiatry, this groundbreaking book collects the latest thinking, research, and real-world practice from the brightest minds in psychiatry, obstetrics, gynecology, and other women's health specialties to provide the most complete compendium on women's reproductive mental health and the mental illnesses that arise at times of reproductive transition. This much-needed resource is positioned to be a cornerstone in the burgeoning field of reproductive psychiatry. Practitioners, researchers, and academics alike will gain an inclusive understanding of the mental, emotional, and behavioral disturbances related to female reproductive stages, including menstruation, pregnancy and the postpartum period, and perimenopause. Organized for everyday use, this convenient resource presents up-to-date information, case examples, and practical tools alongside data-supported guidance for treatment.

Treating Ptsd in First Responders, 2021

By the nature of their jobs, first responders are often highly exposed to traumatic events. Police, firefighters, and paramedics are highly exposed to traumatic events and experience markedly higher rates of PTSD than others in the community. They also face distinct organizational challenges that complicate their stress reactions. Often, this results in needs that are not addressed in manuals developed for people who have survived single traumatic events. This book provides an overview of theoretical and empirical frameworks for understanding PTSD in first responders and outlines practical and evidence-based approaches to assess and treat PTSD in these populations.