A.T. Augusta Military Medical Center Library: Departments: Oncology

Oncology Books on Our Shelves

Cancer Chemotherapy, 2020

Provides a clear and accessible summary of all stages and aspects of the discovery, design, development, validation and clinical use of anticancer drugs. This new edition provides an update on the current state of the art of cancer chemotherapy and clinical practice and presents new pipeline anticancer agents and promising therapeutic strategies that are emerging alongside new breakthroughs in cancer biology. Its unique approach enables students to gain an understanding of the pathological, physiological, and molecular processes governing malignancy, while also introducing the role of health professionals and scientists in the research and treatment of cancer.

The Washington Manual Hematology and Oncology Subspecialty Consult, 5th ed. 2025.

Concise, portable, and user-friendly, The Washington Manual Hematology and Oncology Subspecialty Consult, 5th Edition, provides quick access to the essential information needed to evaluate a patient on a hematology-oncology subspecialty consult service. Edited by Drs. Brian A. Van Tine and Meagan A. Jacoby, this best-selling manual offers state-of-the-art content, including coverage of new therapies such as CAR T-cell therapy, new anti-cancer drugs, and new biomarkers and therapeutic targets. Ideal for fellows, residents, and medical students rotating on hematology and oncology subspecialty services, the manual is also useful as a first-line resource for advanced practice providers, general internal medicine physicians, Hem/ONC fellows, and other primary care providers. Thoroughly revised to include new therapies such as PD-1 inhibitors for Hodgkin lymphoma, CAR T-cell therapy in NHL and multiple myeloma, gene therapy for sickle cell disease, CAR T-cell therapies and management of CRS and neurotoxicity, and more.

Hematological Cancer Pathophysiology: An Interdisciplinary Approach. 2024.

Hematological cancers or blood cancers are a heterogeneous group of malignant neoplasms, including leukemia, lymphoma, and myeloma, primarily affect the blood and bone marrow. The “Hematological Cancer Pathophysiology: An Interdisciplinary Approach” is the tenth volume of the “Interdisciplinary Cancer Research” series, publishes a comprehensive volume on the pathophysiology of hematological cancers. This volume has an interdisciplinary approach in hematological cancers, including myeloproliferative neoplasms, T-cell lymphoma, Hodgkin's lymphoma, non-Hodgkin's lymphoma, and intraocular lymphoma. Waldenstrom macroglobulinemia and IgG4-related diseases are also discussed in the last chapters. This interdisciplinary series is of special value to researchers working on hematology and oncology. This is the main concept of Cancer Immunology Project (CIP), which is a part of Universal Scientific Education and Research Network (USERN). This interdisciplinary book will be of special value to hematologists and oncologists who wish to extend their knowledge on hematological cancers.

Advanced Oncology Nursing Certification Review and Resource Manual

"The profession of nursing is dynamic; future education and practice directions will continue to promote integrity, increased accountability, reliability, and competency-based education. Oncology nursing remains at the forefront of imparting new knowledge and performance standards. The development of this new edition of Advanced Oncology Nursing Certification Review and Resource Manual and all previous edition was in response to requests from the Oncology Nursing Society (ONS) advanced oncology certification review course participants seeking additional resources. Since its first publication, Advanced Oncology Nursing Certification Review and Resource Manual has been a valuable resource for thousands of oncology practitioners across all roles, care settings, and systems. The goals of this third edition are fourfold. The first is to provide a comprehensive review for oncology advanced practice nurses (APNs) who are preparing to sit for any Oncology Nursing Certification Corporation (ONCC) advanced oncology certification exam. The second goal is to provide a comprehensive clinical resource for oncology APNs. The third is to provide a comprehensive overview of oncology advanced practice for faculty and students in graduate oncology nursing education. The fourth is to introduce the recently approved American Association of Colleges of Nursing Essentials: Core competencies for professional nursing education, which re-envisions nursing education. This paradigm shift promotes alignment with newly defined Level 2 competencies and subcompetencies for advanced-level nursing education specialty and role requirements (see www. aacnnursing.org/essentials)"--

DeVita, Hellman, and Rosenberg's Cancer, 2023

Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2023! The standard-setting text in oncology for 40 years, DeVita, Hellman and Rosenberg's Cancer: Principles and Practice of Oncology, 12th Edition, provides authoritative guidance and strategies for managing every type of cancer by stage and presentation. Drs. Vincent T. DeVita, Jr., Theodore S. Lawrence, and Steven A. Rosenberg oversee an outstanding team of expert contributing authors who keep you up to date and fully informed in this fast-changing field. This award-winning reference is also continually updated on Health Library and VitalSource platforms for the life of the edition.&

Physicians' Cancer Chemotherapy Drug Manual 2023

Completely revised and updated for 2022, the Physicians' Cancer Chemotherapy Drug Manual is an up-to-date guide to the latest information on standard therapy and recent advances in the field. Written by world-class experts in clinical cancer therapeutics, this essential reference provides a complete, easy-to-use catalogue of over 100 drugs and commonly used drug regimens--both on- and off-label--for the treatment of all the major cancers. Key Features:* Addition of 17 new agents and 18 new supplemental indications that have all been approved by the FDA within the past year* Updated new indications for previously approved agents* Indications, drug doses and schedules, toxicities, and special considerations for each agent expanded and revised.*

Clinical Management of Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia, 2022

This book provides a state-of-the-art overview of acute lymphoblastic leukemia (ALL). The first section of the book presents the translational science behind ALL, reviewing molecular pathways and targets in B- and T-cell ALL, as well as techniques and application of minimal residual disease testing. The second section spotlights ALL management strategies for patients across the spectrum, from infants to the elderly. The final section outlines current and new advances in ALL treatment, including new monoclonal antibodies and allogenic and autologous HSCT. Written by experts in the field, Clinical Management of Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia: From Bench to Bedside is a valuable resource that will guide patient management, stimulate investigative efforts, and increase understanding of the biologic underpinnings of the disease.

Khan's Treatment Planning in Radiation Oncology, 2022

Offering comprehensive coverage of the clinical, physical, and technical aspects of radiation treatment planning, Khan's Treatment Planning in Radiation Oncology, Fifth Edition, provides a team approach to this complex field. Drs. Paul W. Sperduto and John P. Gibbons are joined by expert contributing authors who focus on the application of physical and clinical concepts to solve treatment planning problems--helping you provide effective, state-of-the-art care for cancer patients. This unique, well-regarded text has been updated throughout to reflect the most current practices in today's radiation oncology treatment. Incorporates the most up-to-date imaging techniques and radiation treatment modalities used to treat patients with cancer Contains new chapters on patient safety knowledge-based treatment planning and the treatment planning implications of combined radiation and immunotherapy.

Cancer with Hope, 2021

This practical, compassionate, and inspiring book helps people with cancer navigate the often complex and difficult journey from diagnosis through treatment and life after disease. It illuminates the challenges associated with a cancer diagnosis and provides inspiration and guidance to help you not only to find the right doctors and care plan but also to cultivate hope and purpose. In Cancer with Hope, former CEO Mike Armstrong chronicles his experience with leukemia, prostate cancer, near-fatal sepsis, and a crippling autoimmune disease. Mike shares how his often difficult journey from humble beginnings to leading some of the world's top corporations taught him the importance of hope and purpose, tools that proved invaluable throughout his cancer journey. More than the tale of one man's experience with cancer, this important book includes expert advice and vetted resources to help patients best manage their disease, as well as compelling stories from a wide range of cancer patients who have faced seemingly insurmountable odds yet managed to maintain hope and find meaningful purpose.

Chronic Myeloid Leukemia, 2021

This book provides state-of-the-art reviews of key issues and recent developments relating to chronic myeloid leukemia (CML), acquainting the reader with advances in research, treatment, and promotion of public health. Among the management topics addressed are the choices, advantages, and pitfalls of first-, second-, and third-line treatments; the European Leukemia Net recommendations; management of adverse effects of tyrosine kinase inhibitors (TKI); management of CML blast crisis; management of pregnancy in the context of CML; the role of hematopoietic cell transplantation; the current experience with TKI discontinuation; and the value of interferon & alpha; in improving the outcome of TKI treatment. Various aspects of relevance to treatment outcome are discussed, including prognostic scores, molecular monitoring (principles and interlaboratory standardization), and response-related predictors of survival. Furthermore, updates are provided on the increasing prevalence of CML and its implications and on the changing cost of care for CML, taking into account the impact of availability of generic imatinib.

Cancer Chemotherapy, 2020

The Washington Manual Hematology and Oncology Subspecialty Consult, 5th ed. 2025.

Hematological Cancer Pathophysiology: An Interdisciplinary Approach. 2024.

Advanced Oncology Nursing Certification Review and Resource Manual

DeVita, Hellman, and Rosenberg's Cancer, 2023

Physicians' Cancer Chemotherapy Drug Manual 2023

Clinical Management of Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia, 2022

Khan's Treatment Planning in Radiation Oncology, 2022

Cancer with Hope, 2021

Chronic Myeloid Leukemia, 2021

Cancer Chemotherapy, 2020

RSS Feed

Truth and accountabilityThis link opens in a new window
Lancet Oncology, The, Volume 26, Issue 9, 2025 Sep, Pages 1123-1123 | The Lancet Oncology
George Orwell's prescient and dystopian novel, 1984, explored themes of totalitarianism, surveillance, and the manipulation of truth. Orwell writes: “Being in a minority, even in a minority of one, did not make you mad. There was truth and there w...
Clarifying the consensus on laryngeal preservation strategies – Authors' replyThis link opens in a new window
Lancet Oncology, The, Volume 26, Issue 9, 2025 Sep, Pages e460-e461 | Ferrari, Marco; Mularoni, Francesca; Smussi, Davide;...
We are grateful to Ömer Orak and Comert Sen for highlighting two potential sources of misunderstanding in our Policy Review. This Correspondence provides our group with an opportunity to clarify specific controversial aspects related to inconsiste...
Correction to Lancet Oncol 2025; 26: 1113–22This link opens in a new window
Lancet Oncology, The, Volume 26, Issue 9, 2025 Sep, Pages e465-e465
Ho AS, Huang SH, O’Sullivan B, et al. Derivation and validation of the AJCC9V pathological stage classification for HPV-positive oropharyngeal carcinoma: a multicentre registry analysis. Lancet Oncol 2025; 26: 1113–22 —In this Article, the red and...
Broadening our view of power in clinician–patient relationships in oncologyThis link opens in a new window
Lancet Oncology, The, Volume 26, Issue 9, 2025 Sep, Pages 1140-1142 | Nimmon, Laura; Rodin, Gary; Smyth, Elizabeth C
Patient-centred communication is crucial for delivering high-quality cancer care. In this Essay, we propose that consideration of the factors that drive power differentials in the clinician–patient relationship might be a useful perspective from w...
Oral lesion as the first sign of disseminated sarcomatoid carcinomaThis link opens in a new window
Lancet Oncology, The, Volume 26, Issue 9, 2025 Sep, Pages e508-e508 | Lombardi, Niccolò, DDS PhD; Franchini, Roberto, DDS PhD; Berberi, Joana, DDS;...
In May, 2025, an otherwise asymptomatic 83-year-old man was referred to the Oral Medicine Department at ASST Santi Paolo e Carlo (University of Milan, Milan, Italy) due to a rapidly growing gingival mass that had developed approximately 3 weeks ea...

Website | Feed

Journals

eBooks

Abeloff's Clinical Oncology, 6th ed. 2020. by John E. Niederhuber; James O. Armitage; James H. Doroshow; Michael B. Kastan; Joel E. Tepper
ISBN: 9780323476744

Easily accessible and clinically focused, Abeloff's Clinical Oncology, 6th Edition, covers recent advances in our understanding of the pathophysiology of cancer, cellular and molecular causes of cancer initiation and progression, new and emerging therapies, current trials, and much more. Masterfully authored by an international team of leading cancer experts, it offers clear, practical coverage of everything from basic science to multidisciplinary collaboration on diagnosis, staging, treatment and follow up. Includes new chapters on Cancer Metabolism and Clinical Trial Designs in Oncology and a standalone chapter on lifestyles and cancer prevention. Features extensive updates including the latest clinical practice guidelines, decision-making algorithms, and clinical trial implications, as well as new content on precision medicine, genetics, and PET/CT imaging. Includes revised diagnostic and treatment protocols for medical management, surgical considerations, and radiation oncology therapies, stressing a multispecialty, integrated approach to care.
Bone Cancer, 3rd ed. 2022. by Dominique Heymann (Editor)
ISBN: 9780128216668

Bone Cancer: Bone Sarcomas and Bone Metastases - From Bench to Bedside, Third Edition comprehensively investigates key discoveries in the field of bone biology. New aspects of bone cancer biology are treated in new chapters covering exosomes, autophagy, and metabolism. These have led to the development of entirely new areas for investigation, such as therapies which combine surgery and biological approaches. The Third Edition expands on the original overview of bone cancer development (physiology and pathophysiology), with 40% new material. Each chapter has been written by internationally recognized specialists on the bone cancer microenvironment, bone metastases, osteoclast biology in bone cancer, proteomics, bone niche, circulating tumor cells, and clinical trials.
Breast Cancer: Multidisciplinary Pathways for Cancer Care in the Community. 2024. by James L. Weese MD, FACS
ISBN: 9780323932493

Because most cancer care is delivered in the community setting, Breast Cancer, edited by Dr. James L. Weese, looks at the management of breast cancer through the lens of multidisciplinary pathways focused on evidence-based, real-world care of breast cancer patients in the community. A multidisciplinary team of expert authors provides state-of-the-art guidance from the perspective of community practitioners using an evidence-based model, clearly showing the thought processes used to make treatment decisions in today's breast cancer management.
Discusses all the latest breakthrough therapies for breast cancer, including chemotherapeutic, molecular, and immunologic agents, as well as new developments in precision-based medicine, pharmacology, breast cancer surgery, breast and lymphatic reconstruction, radiation therapy, and more.
Clinical Cases in Ocular Oncology, 1st ed. 2025. by Aparna Ramasubramanian
ISBN: 9780443120497

The complex area of ocular oncology requires adaptable approaches to treatment depending on the type and anatomical region of the tumor, tumor characteristics, the patient’s age, co-morbidities, and response to first-line treatment. Through the use of practical, case-based content, Clinical Cases in Ocular Oncology helps you familiarize yourself with clinical decision making in this challenging field, providing expert guidance on diagnosis, management, and treatment planning.Includes 66 cases covering a range of patient presentations and scenarios that mirror day-to-day practice.Covers a variety of ophthalmic tumors, including intraocular melanoma, lymphoma of the eye, retinoblastoma, conjunctiva, choroidal melanoma, squamous cell carcinoma, lacrimal gland tumors, and tumors of the eyelid.
Clinical Immuno-Oncology. 2024. by John E. Niederhuber MD
ISBN: 9780323877633

Offering focused, practical, and up-to-date content on immunotherapies used to treat a wide variety of cancer types, Clinical Immuno-Oncology covers the basic cellular and molecular mechanisms involved in cancer initiation and progression. The text reviews the development of tumor specific antigens and the challenges of developing cancer immunotherapies. Every effort is made to relate the fundamental aspects of host immunity to the efficacy of current immunotherapies and how they work in conjunction with the immune system to combat cancer. This foundational resource explains the basics of cancer immunotherapy, discusses best practices, and provides recommendations from experienced clinicians in the field.
Diagnosis and Treatment of Rare Gynecologic Cancers. 2023. by Michael Frumovitz; Mario M. Leitao Jr.; Preetha Ramalingam
ISBN: 9780323829380

Offering a one-stop guide to recognition and therapeutic decision making, Diagnosis and Treatment of Rare Gynecologic Cancers fills a gap in the medical literature on uncommon ovarian, uterine, cervical, and vulvovaginal cancers and trophoblastic diseases. This authoritative text, edited by Drs. Michael Frumovitz, Mario Leitao, and Preetha Ramalingam, has been authored by internationally recognized experts from top institutions such as MD Anderson Cancer Center and Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center. Each chapter covers different cancer subtypes and has been reviewed by an oncologist and a pathologist. Provides up-to-date clinical guidance on assessment and therapeutic options for patients with rare gynecologic malignancies. Presents information in a templated, easy-to-read format. Each chapter includes an introductory clinical case followed by epidemiology of disease, pathologic assessment, basic science/molecular/translational research, work-up of newly diagnosed disease, staging, treatment of newly diagnosed disease, treatment of recurrent disease, potential therapeutic targets, and a case resolution. Includes diagnostic and treatment algorithms for each form of cancer.
Drug Repurposing in Cancer Therapy. 2020. by Kenneth K. W To (Editor); William C. S. Cho (Editor)
ISBN: 9780128196687

Drug Repurposing in Cancer Therapy: Approaches and Applications provides comprehensive and updated information from experts in basic science research and clinical practice on how existing drugs can be repurposed for cancer treatment. The book summarizes successful stories that may assist researchers in the field to better design their studies for new repurposing projects. Sections discuss specific topics such as in silico prediction and high throughput screening of repurposed drugs, drug repurposing for overcoming chemoresistance and eradicating cancer stem cells, and clinical investigation on combination of repurposed drug and anticancer therapy. Cancer researchers, oncologists, pharmacologists and several members of biomedical field who are interested in learning more about the use of existing drugs for different purposes in cancer therapy will find this to be a valuable resource.
Handbook of Cancer Treatment-Related Symptoms and Toxicities. 2022. by Vamsidhar Velcheti; Salman R. Punekar
ISBN: 9780323672412

Early recognition and management of adverse effects of cancer treatments are essential for optimal care of patients with cancer, and drastically different approaches are required for different physiologic reactions. Handbook of Cancer Treatment-Related Symptoms and Toxicities is a focused, one-stop resource that enables clinicians to quickly find up-to-date, reliable information needed at the point of care. The high-yield approach prioritizes the most common toxicities associated with cancer treatment, and concise, templated chapters offer fast access to information needed in day-to-day practice.
Head and Neck Cancer Rehabilitation. 2025. by Adrian Cristian MD MHCM FAAPMR
ISBN: 9780443118067

Edited by cancer rehabilitation specialist Dr. Adrian Cristian, Head and Neck Cancer Rehabilitation provides clinicians with a concise and accessible resource covering the holistic rehabilitation of head and neck cancer patients. This book begins with the epidemiology, genetics and pathophysiology of cancer in this region and moves into clinical assessment and treatment options before providing comprehensive coverage of rehabilitation. Featuring practical information, best practices, and the latest advances and research, this book provides a valuable reference for physical medicine and rehabilitation physicians and residents, as well as occupational therapists, physical therapists, and ENT specialists.
Lung Cancer: An Evidence-Based Approach to Multidisciplinary Management. 2024. by Erin Alexis Gillaspie MD, MPH, FACS, Amanda S. Cass PharmD and Leora Horn MD, MSc, MHPE
ISBN: 9780323695732

Care of the lung cancer patient—screening, diagnosis, and treatment—has undergone recent dramatic changes due to technologic and research-driven advances. Lung Cancer: An Evidence-Based Approach to Multidisciplinary Management covers every aspect of this fast-changing field, including new screening guidelines, new practice standards, and new treatment advances that have led to higher survival rates. This practical, clinically oriented resource provides thorough, evidence-based coverage from experts in the field, including the increasingly important precision medicine approach in lung cancer planning and management.
The MD Anderson Manual of Medical Oncology, 4th ed. 2022. by Hagop M. Kantarjian; Robert A. Wolff; Alyssa G. Rieber
ISBN: 9781260467642

Expert, hands-on guidance for the practicing oncologist--from the leader in the field of cancer management--completely updated to reflect the latest advances A Doody's Core Title for 2023! Comprehensive and authoritative, The MD Anderson Manual of Medical Oncology delivers everything you need to accurately diagnose and effectively treat a wide range of cancers--including leukemia, lymphoma, myeloma, lung and breast cancer, genitourinary carcinoma, melanoma, and sarcoma. This unmatched resource emphasizes practical, actionable steps to cancer treatment, providing "to the point" recommendations, chapter summary boxes, tables, charts, expert opinion and patient education boxes, practice tips, cases, and prescriptive advice.
Palliative Radiation Oncology. 2024. by Neha Vapiwala MD, Joshua A. Jones MD and Kavita V. Dharmarajan MD
ISBN: 9780323876889

Offering practical, comprehensive coverage of the many nuanced technical and clinical aspects of this growing field, Palliative Radiation Oncology provides up-to-date clinical guidance in a thorough yet concise manner. In an easy-access format, it integrates basic science, pathologies, and research with clinical applications, covering different ways to approach problems, tumor assessment, precise target definition, and dosing-specific guidelines to minimize side effects/toxicities while balancing with desired outcomes. Discusses optimal communication skills for pediatric, adult, and elderly patients. Contains decision-making algorithms to guide individualized palliative radiation oncology treatment plans.
Pediatric Transplant and Oncology Infectious Diseases, 2021. by William Steinbach
ISBN: 9780323641982

As the number and types of pediatric transplants increase and the complexity of chemotherapy regimens continues to evolve, there is a greater need for authoritative guidance, clinically actionable strategies, and easy-to-find information in the challenging area of immunocompromised pediatric patients. Pediatric Transplant and Oncology Infectious Diseases covers the must-know principles for diagnosing and managing opportunistic infections in immunocompromised populations and detailed aspects of their care - information not specifically covered in pediatric infectious disease textbooks or pediatric oncology books. Features algorithms in every chapter that provide visual, accessible overviews of treatment protocols. Discusses key topics such as microbiome implications in transplantation and oncology, antimicrobial resistant Gram-negative bacteria, EBV-associated post-transplant lymphoproliferative disorders, and many others.
Perioperative Care of the Cancer Patient. 2023. by Carin A. Hagberg (Editor); Joseph L. Nates (Editor); Berhard P. Riedel (Editor); Vijaya N. R. Gottumukkala (Editor); Donal Buggy (Editor)
ISBN: 9780323695848

More than 80% of patients with cancer will need the services of anesthesiology and perioperative medicine, intensive care medicine, and pain management specialists during their cancer journey for diagnostic, therapeutic, and symptom management needs, as well as for the management of recurrent disease, secondary cancers, and ongoing non-oncologic surgical needs during survivorship. Perioperative Care of the Cancer Patient is today's most up-to-date, authoritative, comprehensive reference on the acute care of surgical patients with cancer, from a team of international experts in this emerging and dynamic specialty. Covers current clinical practice and perioperative care guidelines during the entire cancer journey for both adult and pediatric patients. Includes a diverse array of topics on cancer care, such as cancer epidemiology, cancer biology, ethics in cancer care delivery, value proposition in cancer care, opportunities and challenges with research programs in perioperative cancer care, application of big data and computational sciences in cancer medicine and care delivery, and the MD Anderson Cancer Center Moon Shots Program®.

Databases

PubMed

Web of Science - NCR

Tools for Practice

Organizations

Podcasts

Request Services

If you are not able to find an article within our online resources, please complete the article request form and return it to the library email: dha.belvoir.ncr-medical.mbx.fbch-library@mail.mil
To request a book that FBCH Library does not own, please complete the form and return it via the library email: dha.belvoir.fbch.mbx.library@mail.mil
To Request a Literature Search, please, complete the attached form and return it to the library. dha.belvoir.fbch.mbx.library@health.mil
To Request Remote Access, please, complete the attached form and return it to the library. dha.belvoir.fbch.mbx.library@health.mil
EndNote is a citation manager. Citation managers are used to organize citations used in research, and then to develop bibliographies. You can access EndNote via the web, have it loaded on your ATAMMC computer, or request the information to load it on your personal computer. It's helpful to understand how DoD cyber security impacts EndNote use. ***Contact the Library for the software serial number and complete the attached form and send it to the library for instrallation

Fill out the appropriate form and save it.

Click on the envelope to email and attach your request form.

Library Team

Eileen M. Anderson

Library Technician

eileen.m.anderson22.civ@health.mil

571-231-2540