The new fourth edition of Understanding and Managing Vision Deficits: A Guide for Occupational Therapists provides practitioners not only with a comprehensive understanding of vision and how vision problems can impact on occupational therapy, but also invaluable guidance on how to effectively manage clients with these issues.
Now in its fourth edition, the popular Occupational Safety and Health Law Handbook has been your go-to guide to the fundamentals of occupational safety and health law for over a decade. It provides an authoritative and completely up-to-date reference that you count on for its reliable information and straightforward explanation. Each chapter is written by a highly respected attorney who is an expert in the field. Yet the book is written without legal jargon, in plain English that anyone can understand. In it, the authors provide interpretations of many facets of the Occupational Safety and Health Act, review regulations and standards governing employee protection, and offer advice for dealing with regulatory authorities. As in the previous edition, this edition begins with an overview of the OSH Act in Chapter 1 and then addresses who is covered under the OSH Act, the development of safety and health laws, and the employer's duty to comply with occupational safety and health laws in Chapters 2 through 4. Chapter 5 provides a detailed discussion of the recording and reporting rules for work-related injuries and illness as well other recordkeeping requirements under specific safety and health standards. Chapters 6 and 7 focus on the rights of employers and employees, including employees' right against unlawful discrimination related to protected safety activity. In Chapter 8, the authors provide a detailed discussion of the new hazard communication provisions that conform with the Globally Harmonized System. Chapter 9 covers the use of voluntary safety and health self-audits that employers may use to identify and correct safety and health hazards. Chapters 10 and 11 discuss OSHA's primary enforcement tools -- inspections and investigations and citations issued following an inspection or investigation. These chapters also contain insight on steps employers may need to take during an inspection or investigation. Chapter 12 explains the procedures for challenging a citation before the Occupational Safety and Health Review Commission and federal court of appeals. Chapter 13 covers criminal enforcement of OSHA standards. The last chapter covers imminent domain inspections. The Occupational Safety and Health Law Handbook serves as a useful guide for practitioners in the occupational safety and health field who are responsible for addressing safety and health concerns in the workplace.
This book is a practical guide for preventing occupational exposures to bloodborne and infectious disease in health care. It is a timely and essential resource given that people working in healthcare settings sustain a higher incidence of occupational illness than any other industry sector, and at the time of publication of this book we are in the midst of a global pandemic of COVID-19. While the guide is focused on health care primarily, it would be useful for preventing exposures to essential workers in many other industries as well. The guide offers easy-to-follow instruction, all in one place, for creating, implementing, and evaluating occupational health and safety programs.
Fully revised for this third edition, the Oxford Handbook of Occupational Health is a concise, practice-based guide to the area. Bringing together the latest legislation and guidance with current practice in the field, this is an authoritative reference to assessing and managing health risks in the workplace. Consisting of twelve sections covering the full breadth of practice, this Handbook covers workplace hazards and diseases, occupational health emergencies, and practical procedures. This third edition also contains new information on ethics, work health and disability, infection control, respiratory disorders, and fitness for work, with updated diagrams, figures and chemical structures to aid reader understanding.
This book gathers cutting-edge research and best practices relating to occupational risk and safety management, healthcare and ergonomics. It covers strategies for different types of industry, such as construction, food, chemical and healthcare. It gives a special emphasis on challenges posed by automation, discussing solutions offered by technologies, and reporting on case studies carried out in different countries.
Gain the knowledge and skills you need to treat clients/patients with physical disabilities! Pedretti's Occupational Therapy: Practice Skills for Physical Dysfunction, 9th Edition uses a case-based approach threaded through each chapter to provide a solid foundation in evaluation, intervention, and clinical reasoning. The text continues to support the entry-level occupational therapist and the experienced occupational therapist focused on expanding skills and knowledge.
In the newly revised Sixth Edition of Pocket Consultant: Occupational Health, an accomplished and distinguished team of researchers and practitioners deliver a fully updated overview of current occupational health practices. The book offers a complete, international perspective that includes discussions of issues like migrant working populations, and new chapters on occupational exposure in different industries and specific processes. Special issues such as working hours and shift work, alcohol and drug use testing, eHealth, military populations, fatigue, and sleep disorders are also discussed at length. Readers will also find: A thorough introduction to occupational health, including people involved, the roles of occupational health professionals, industrial processes, and health outcomes Comprehensive explorations of occupational health services at an international level, occupational diseases, and occupational infections Practical discussions of clinical evaluations, including pre-employment placement, fitness for work, health assessments, health surveillance, and medical records Examinations of medico-legal report writing and the legal and ethical aspects of occupational health In-depth examinations of occupational toxicology, occupational hygiene, chemical/physical/biological/psychosocial hazards, and the principles of risk assessment and risk management along with the latest on control toolkits A new companion website featuring flashcards and multiple-choice questions Perfect for occupational hygienists, physicians, nurses, safety practitioners and anyone in a health and safety role, Pocket Consultant: Occupational Health will also earn a place in the libraries of general practitioners, medical students, nursing students, occupational therapists, physiotherapists, toxicologists, and occupational psychologists.
This comprehensive guide builds your understanding of OEM complexities while providing practical information you need for daily care. Concise yet fully comprehensive, CURRENT Diagnosis & Treatment: Occupational & Environmental Medicine, Sixth Edition is the definitive guide to diagnosing, treating, preventing, and remediating common occupational and environmental illnesses. It provides valuable insights into the role of non-physician health and safety professionals, how they interact with physicians, and the value of team collaboration. Providing quick access to critical information, this thorough guide also covers important legal aspects of occupational and environmental medicine. Extra materials for your day-to-day needs include workers comp specs by state/region, physical exam guidelines (photos, videos), pain scales, OSHA/NIOSH questionnaires, screening questions, AOEC/NAICS/SOC information, blood/urine toxicology values, pain management guidelines, and more.
Sustaining a healthy and productive work environment for employees with health issues and work disabilities or those returning to work after sick leave may present a challenge to employers. This publication offers unique insights into occupational health and rehabilitation, covering international perspectives as well as a variety of health-related disciplines. Policymakers, employers, employees, researchers and students will find new approaches to questions of how to maintain work ability and health in the workplace.
This companion to the bestselling Introduction to Health and Safety at Work will help you prepare for the written assessments on the NEBOSH National General Certificate in Occupational Health and Safety (2019 specification). It provides complete coverage of the syllabus in bite-sized chunks and will help you learn and memorize the most important areas, with links provided back to the main Introduction to Health and Safety at Worktext to help you consolidate your learning. Small and portable making it ideal for use anywhere: at home, in the classroom or on the move. Includes specimen questions and answers based on recent examination papers. Everything you need for productive revision in one handy reference source. This revision guide is written by an experienced lecturer and former Vice Chairman of NEBOSH, who has spent many years helping students become accredited by NEBOSH.
Provides health professionals with a single, accessible, and interesting source to prepare for the field of occupational and environmental medicine. The new edition is extensively updated and includes questions for review in preparation for taking exams.
This set is designed to be a thorough introduction for physicians entering the occupational and environmental medicine field, whether preparing for specialty examinations or moving into the field from other medical specialties or from primary care. It also serves as a convenient guide and reference for nurses, health professionals, and those outside of health care who need a quick orientation.
The set is written with a strong and coherent point of view about the value of occupational and environmental medicine and commitment to ethical, worker-centered practice. It is unusual in the depth of its coverage; its inclusion of important topics that are usually overlooked in textbooks of the field, such as risk science; its emphasis on good management of occupational health services; and its thorough integration of material that fits topics together rather than presenting them as if they were separate and unrelated. Covers all topics in the OEM Board Specialty Examination.
CURRENT Diagnosis & Treatment Occupational & Environmental Medicine, 6th Edition. 2021. by 
Primary Care Occupational Therapy, 1st ed. 2023. by 
Occupational Group Therapy. 2021. by 
Current Issues in the Assessment of Respiratory Protective Devices for Occupational and Non-Occupational Uses. 2021. by 
Foundations for Practice in Occupational Therapy, 6th ed. 2020. by 
Handbook of Occupational Health Psychology, 3rd ed. 2023. by 
Using Occupational Therapy Models in Practice. 2024. by 
Fill out the appropriate form and save it.
Click on the envelope to email and attach your request form.
Eileen M. Anderson
Library Technician
eileen.m.anderson22.civ@health.mil
571-231-2540