Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Medical Library: Home

New Books

Mosby's Textbook for Medication Assistants, 2023

Gain the knowledge and skills you need to safely administer medications! Mosby's Textbook for Medication Assistants, 2nd Edition covers the principles and techniques of drug administration for common drugs and over-the-counter medications. It addresses topics such as basic pharmacology, the effect of drugs on body systems, delegation and lifespan considerations, ethics and laws, and math skills for accurate dosage calculation. Written by Karen Anderson, this text is a complete guide to the medication assistant's role, function, and scope of practice. Step-by-step procedures are divided into manageable segments, with instructions for each skill. Clear, easy-to-read writing style makes it easy to understand what you've read. Documentation reporting and recording is discussed for each drug. Focus on Communication boxes suggest what to say and questions to ask when interacting with patients, residents, family, and nursing staff. Focus on Older Person boxes provide age-specific considerations when administering drugs to older patients.

Pharmacotherapy Principles and Practice, Sixth , 2022Edition

All the main concepts from the landmark Pharmacotherapy: A Pathophysiologic Approach--distilled down to a concise, clinically focused, full-color resource. Providing a solid evidence-based approach, Pharmacotherapy Principles & Practice, Sixth Edition explains how to design, implement, monitor, and evaluate medication therapy. You'll gain an in-depth understanding of the underlying principles of the pharmacotherapy of disease and their practical application Pharmacotherapy Principles & Practice includes chapters on geriatrics, pediatrics, and palliative care. Each of the subsequent disease-based chapters covers disease epidemiology, etiology, pathophysiology, clinical presentation and diagnosis, nonpharmacologic therapy, followed by therapeutic recommendations for medication selection, desired outcomes, dosing, and patient monitoring.

Rapid Response System, 2018

Rapid Response System: A Practical Guide provides a practical approach to the evaluation, differential diagnosis, and management of common medical and surgical emergencies such as cardiac arrest, acute respiratory failure, seizures, and hemorrhagic shock occurring in hospitalized patients. Less common and special circumstances such as pediatric, obstetric, oncologic, neurologic and behavioral emergencies as well as palliative care for terminally ill patients encountered in the context of rapid response team events are also discussed. An overview of commonly performed bedside emergency procedures by rapid response team members complements the clinical resources that may need to be brought to bear during the course of the rapid response team event. Finally, an overview of organization, leadership, communication, quality and patient safety surrounding rapid response team events is provided. This book is written with medical students, junior physicians and nursing staff in mind working in both academic and community hospital settings. Both a novice and an experienced healthcare provider involved in a rapid response system will find this handbook to be valuable supplement to the clinical experiences gained though active engagement in the system. Hospital administrators and senior management staff will also find this book to be useful in the evaluation of quality and performance of the rapid response system, management of staff attitudes and behavior, performance of peer review, care for second victims and implementation of countermeasures for patient safety problems discovered in the course of rapid response system reviews.

Rapid Response Situations, 2021

Practically focused and evidence based, Rapid Response Situations: Management in Adult and Geriatric Hospitalist Medicine compiles the essential information needed by rapid response teams (RRT) for early intervention at the bedside of an acutely ill patient. This portable resource is ideal for hospitalists and other members of the RRT, offering step-by-step coverage of the assessment and stabilization information most needed at the time of emergency. Addresses the most common rapid response situations in a brief, highly templated, and bulleted format designed for quick reference at the point of care. Step-by-step coverage includes: Which stabilization measures to implement Which tests to order and why Which medications to administer, including dosage Which specialists to consult for further interventions. A must-have reference for hospitalists, intensivists, ICU nurses, and other rapid response team members, including those working in rural settings with few intensivists or specialists available for consults.

COVID -19 Information

Coronavirus

Military Health Services Coronavirus information.

LitCovid

LitCovid is a curated literature hub for tracking up-to-date scientific information about the 2019 novel Coronavirus. It is the most comprehensive resource on the subject, providing a central access to 72516 (and growing) relevant articles in PubMed. The articles are updated daily and are further categorized by different research topics and geographic locations for improved access. You can learn more at Chen et al. Nature (2020) or our FAQ, and download our data here.

Request Services

Fill out the appropriate form and save it.

Click on the envelope to email and attach your request form.

Library Team

Virgie Paul, MLS

Medical Librarian

 virgie.d.paul.civ@mail.mil

571-231-3721

Judith Stern, MLIS

Library Technician

judith.e.stern.civ@mail.mil

571-231-2540

Authors at FBCH

Hind A. Beydoun - FBCH

Beydoun HA, Beydoun MA, Weiss J, Gautam RS, Hossain S, Alemu BT, Zonderman AB. Predictors of Covid-19 level of concern among older adults from the health and retirement study. Sci Rep. 2022 Mar 15;12(1):4396. doi: 10.1038/s41598-022-08332-8. PMID: 35292672; PMCID: PMC8921703.

Hind A. Beydoun - FBCH

Beydoun HA, Beydoun MA, Hossain S, Alemu BT, Gautam RS, Weiss J, Zonderman AB. Socio-demographic, lifestyle and health characteristics as predictors of self-reported Covid-19 history among older adults: 2006-2020 Health and Retirement Study. Am J Infect Control. 2022 Mar 12:S0196-6553(22)00101-8. doi: 10.1016/j.ajic.2022.02.021. Epub ahead of print. PMID: 35292297; PMCID: PMC8916987.

 

Steven K. Sparks - FBCH

Baird DC, Batten SH, Sparks SK. Alpha- and Beta-thalassemia: Rapid Evidence Review. Am Fam Physician. 2022 Mar 1;105(3):272-280. PMID: 35289581.

Caitlyn de Kanter and Sukhamani Dhaliwal - FBCH

de Kanter C, Dhaliwal S, Hawks M. Colorectal Cancer Screening: Updated Guidelines From the American College of Gastroenterology. Am Fam Physician. 2022 Mar 1;105(3):327-329. PMID: 35289558.

Derek Larson - FBCH

Larson D, Won SH, Ganesan A, Maves RC, Kronmann K, Okulicz JF, Chu X, Schofield C, O'Bryan T, Agan BK, Deiss R. Statin usage and cardiovascular risk among people living with HIV in the U.S. Military HIV Natural History Study. HIV Med. 2022 Mar;23(3):249-258. doi: 10.1111/hiv.13195. Epub 2021 Oct 26. PMID: 34704330; PMCID: PMC8847313.

Derek T. Larson - FBCH

Pollett SD, Richard SA, Fries AC, Simons MP, Mende K, Lalani T, Lee T, Chi S, Mody R, Madar C, Ganesan A, Larson DT, Colombo CJ, Colombo R, Samuels EC, Broder CC, Laing ED, Smith DR, Tribble D, Agan BK, Burgess TH. The Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome Coronavirus 2 (SARS-CoV-2) mRNA Vaccine-Breakthrough Infection Phenotype Includes Significant Symptoms, Live Virus Shedding, and Viral Genetic Diversity. Clin Infect Dis. 2022 Mar 9;74(5):897-900. doi: 10.1093/cid/ciab543. PMID: 34117878; PMCID: PMC8906702.

Hind A. Beydoun - FBCH

Beydoun HA, Naughton MJ, Beydoun MA, Shadyab AH, Brunner RL, Chen JC, Espeland M, Shumaker SA, Zonderman AB. Association of sleep disturbance with Parkinson disease: evidence from the Women's Health Initiative. Menopause. 2022 Jan 10;29(3):255-263. doi: 10.1097/GME.0000000000001918. PMID: 35013056.

 

Michael P. Carroll, Jr and Nathaniel Nye - FBCH

Carroll MP Jr, Nye N. Health Outcomes in Motorcycling: A Call to Action. Sports Med. 2022 Mar;52(3):677-678. doi: 10.1007/s40279-021-01570-2. Epub 2021 Dec 14. PMID: 34905180.

Rose K. Sia and Denise S. Ryan - FBCH

Sia RK, Ryan DS, Brooks DI, Kagemann JM, Bower KS, French LM, Justin GA, Colyer MH. The Impact of Combat Ocular Trauma and Traumatic Brain Injury on Vision- and Health-Related Quality of Life Among U.S. Military Casualties. Mil Med. 2022 Jan 4;187(1-2):209-215. doi: 10.1093/milmed/usab233. PMID: 34117765.

Alexandra T. Osgood

Arnold MJ, Osgood AT, Aust A. Chronic Pelvic Pain in Women: ACOG Updates Recommendations. Am Fam Physician. 2021 Feb 1;103(3):186-188. PMID: 33507045.

Jeanmarie B. Rey, Alexandra T. Osgood and Afsoon A. Anvari - FBCH

Rey JB, Osgood AT, Anvari AA. Topical and Device-Based Treatment of Toenail Onychomycosis. Am Fam Physician. 2021 Feb 1;103(3):145-146. PMID: 33507055.

Timothy Harkom - FBCH

Nguyen LN, Crothers BA, Davey DD, Natale KE, Nunez AL, Harkcom T, Mody DR, Barkan GA, Souers RJ, Tabatabai ZL, Booth CN. Current State of Cytologic-Histologic Correlation Implementation for North American and International Laboratories. Arch Pathol Lab Med. 2022 Mar 10. doi: 10.5858/arpa.2021-0223-CP. Epub ahead of print. PMID: 35271691.

Rose K. Sia, Denise S. Ryan, Brittany E. Powell and Hind Beydoun - FBCH

Flor R, Purt B, Sia RK, Ryan DS, Kagemann JM, Powell BE, French LM, Beydoun H, Justin GA, Colyer MH. Correlative Factors for Traumatic Brain Injury in Combat Ocular Trauma. Mil Med. 2022 Mar 9:usac010. doi: 10.1093/milmed/usac010. Epub ahead of print. PMID: 35260903.

Derek T. Larson, Evan C. Ewers, Kia M. Gallagher, Alexandra M. Mahoney, Madison L. Paul and Peter J. Weina - FBCH

Larson DT, Ewers EC, Gallagher KM, Mahoney AM, Paul ML, Weina PJ. Real World Impact of Remdesivir and Dexamethasone on Clinical Outcomes of Severe Coronavirus Disease 2019 in a Community Hospital. Mil Med. 2022 Mar 12:usac052. doi: 10.1093/milmed/usac052. Epub ahead of print. PMID: 35277723.

About the Library

 

Library Location:

Fort Belvoir Community Hospital 

9300 DeWitt Loop

Sunrise Pavilion - 1st Floor - Room 902

Fort Belvoir, VA 22060

 

Library Hours:

0730 - 1630 Monday - Friday

Closed weekends and Holidays.

(After hour access is available for providers * please ask a library team member)

 

Library Email address:

dha.belvoir.ncr-medical.mbx.fbch-library@mail.mil

 

 

Library COVID-19 Policies:

Please wear a mask and practice social distancing at all times while in the library.

NO EATING OR DRINKING IN THE LIBRARY 

We take measures to keep you safe!

The library staff disinfects the computers, door handles and desk tops each day.   We have implemented social distancing on each row of computers.  CaviWipes and gloves are available if you would like to disinfect a computer before use.   We strive for all to be safe as you pursue your information needs here in the library.  

Be Safe!

Thank you.

Health Awareness

Health Awareness for May