Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Medical Library: Home

New Books

A Happier You

Based on author Scott Glassman's A Happier You® wellness program, this uplifting guide offers seven skills in seven weeks to supercharge your positivity and short-circuit the cycle of negative thinking. Are you a 'glass-half-full' or a 'glass-half-empty' type of person? Or is the glass shattered in a million pieces? If you find yourself always focusing on the negative rather than the good things in life, you might be experiencing the 'negativity effect.' It can infect every aspect of your life, and manifest in any number of mental and emotional challenges--including depression, anxiety, burnout, and broken relationships. So, how do tap into your capacity for positivity and start building a better view of the world?

Cancer with Hope, 2021

This practical, compassionate, and inspiring book helps people with cancer navigate the often complex and difficult journey from diagnosis through treatment and life after disease. It illuminates the challenges associated with a cancer diagnosis and provides inspiration and guidance to help you not only to find the right doctors and care plan but also to cultivate hope and purpose. In Cancer with Hope, former CEO Mike Armstrong chronicles his experience with leukemia, prostate cancer, near-fatal sepsis, and a crippling autoimmune disease. Mike shares how his often difficult journey from humble beginnings to leading some of the world's top corporations taught him the importance of hope and purpose, tools that proved invaluable throughout his cancer journey. More than the tale of one man's experience with cancer, this important book includes expert advice and vetted resources to help patients best manage their disease, as well as compelling stories from a wide range of cancer patients who have faced seemingly insurmountable odds yet managed to maintain hope and find meaningful purpose.

S. T. A. B. L. E. - Cardiac Module: Recognition and Stabilization of Neonates with Severe CHD, 2021

S.T.A.B.L.E. - Cardiac Module: Recognition and Stabilization of Neonates with Severe CHD will be valuable to any healthcare provider responsible for the recognition and stabilization of newborns with severe forms of CHD. Nurses, advanced practice nurses, physician assistants, and physicians working in all settings- neonatal, neonatal transport, well-baby, and pediatric and cardiac intensive care settings will gain critical knowledge for the highest standard of care. The updated 2nd edition contains more than 120 new full-color illustrations making it an excellent teaching tool for healthcare providers and parents! The 2nd edition features: A comprehensive explanation of neonatal CHD, starting with a history and physical examination. New! Common palliative care for and surgical correction of the CHD lesions illustrated in this book.

Fuster and Hurst's the Heart, 15th Edition, 2022

The landmark text that belongs in the hands of every cardiologist--fully updated and reorganized to make it more patient-centric than ever. World-famous for its authority, currency, and clinical relevance, Fuster and Hurst's The Heart is cardiology's longest continuously published reference book. Written to meet the ever-changing needs of cardiologists, fellows, and interns, this trusted classic offers a solid foundation in cardiovascular medicine and complete coverage of all major cardiovascular topics. For this brand-new edition, cardiology legend Dr. Valentin Fuster and his editorial team have significantly enhanced this definitive guide to make it even more focused on the practicalities of patient care.

New Leadership for Today's Health Care Professionals, 2020

New Leadership for Today's Health Care Professionals: Cases and Concepts, Second Edition explores various components of the health care system and how leaders should respond in these arenas. The Second Edition is a thorough revision that offers a comprehensive view of the leadership competencies necessary to be successful in today's healthcare industry. Each chapter is written by a leader in the healthcare industry under the guidance of the editors who have many years' experience in academia.

Birth as an American rite of passage, Third edition, 2022

This third edition brings together Davis-Floyd's insights into the intense ritualization of labor and birth and the technocratic humanistic and holistic models of birth with new data collected in recent years.

The Art of Healthy Living, 2020

The Art of Healthy Living, you will see improved creativity, an increase in personal development and elevated performance levels in work, sports, the classroom, relationships, the home and throughout your life. This book will help you: Live a healthy life to make you smarter and more motivated in both your personal and professional life Enjoy higher energy, better mental and physical ability and increased strength Learn how proper nutrition and exercise will enhance every aspect of your life Create motivation for a more toned and healthy-looking you Give yourself the knowledge and power to stand out and thrive.

A Prescription for Healthy Living, 2021

A Prescription for Healthy Living: A Guide to Lifestyle Medicine takes an evidence-based approach to health promotion and disease prevention. Medical doctors, healthcare professionals and research scientists from a variety of backgrounds provide informed advice on how to encourage patients to take charge of their health and future. This book addresses the impact that socioeconomic and environmental factors have on the health of a population and explores the psychology of health-related behavioral change, as well as considering a variety of subject areas as diverse as nutrition, physical activity, the practice of gratitude, the adverse health impacts of loneliness and the importance of achieving a satisfactory work-life balance. A Prescription for Healthy Living aims to encourage and inspire healthcare practitioners and public health officials to empower patients to make simple behavioral changes that will have a large and positive effect on their physical and mental wellbeing.

Gentle Nutrition, 2021

Intuitive eating is a non-diet approach to healthy eating that focuses on unlearning diet cultures' toxic messaging so you can build a healthier relationship with food and your body. There is a common perception that intuitive eating approaches are also anti-nutrition, but that's simply not the case. In this book, registered dietitian Rachael Hartley looks at the role of gentle nutrition in intuitive eating. She explores why diets don't work, why weight doesn't equal health, and how to approach nutrition in a flexible way, with the goal of promoting wellbeing, not reaching for an arbitrary number on the scale.

Fleisher and Ludwig's 5-Minute Pediatric Emergency Medicine Consult, 2020

Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022! The second edition of Fleisher & Ludwig's 5-Minute Pediatric Emergency Medicine Consult helps anyone working in a busy emergency or urgent care setting diagnose, treat and manage over 500 diseases and common pediatric conditions. You'll instantly find clear answers--summarized succinctly--on clinical orientation, differential diagnosis, medications, management, discharge criteria and more. Practice guidelines are evidence-based, and the book is formatted for quick reference, double-checking or a 5-minute refresher. Organized alphabetically and filled with brief, templated bullet points for quick and easy reading.

Neonatal Nursing Care Handbook, Third Edition, 2022

This benchmark handbook for neonatal nurse practitioners describes the most common conditions and procedures in an easy-to-access streamlined format. This thoroughly revised third edition continues to promote the foundational principles of evidence-based nursing practice worldwide, while taking the resources and requirements of different practice settings into account. It delivers updated information on trauma-informed care and offers new sections on parent perspectives about transition to home, neonatal opioid withdrawal syndrome (NOWS), and therapeutic hypothermia. Designed with a logical organization, Neonatal Nursing Care Handbook, Third Edition features brief narratives and plentiful illustrations and charts. This quick reference is easily used by English-as-second-language nurses and can be conveniently stored in a pocket for on-the-go referral. Part I uses a systems approach to address management of disorders related to each body system. All chapters include a brief definition of the neonatal problem, followed by diagnostic tests and labs. Part II encompasses special care considerations such as nutrition, surgical care, and palliative care. Part III discusses widely seen procedures and diagnostic tests, complete with lab values.

Principles and Practice of Systematic Reviews and Meta-Analysis, 2021

Evidence based medicine is at the core of modern medicine. It involves the integration of individual clinical expertise with the best available clinical evidence from systematic research and patient's values and expectations. Systematic reviews offer a summary of the best available evidence. They are the most reliable and comprehensive statement about what works.  Written by clinical academics from Australia, UK, USA, and Switzerland, this contributed volume introduces the readers to the principles and practice of systematic reviews and meta-analysis. It covers the various steps involved in systematic reviews including development of a focused question and the strategy for conducting a comprehensive literature search, identifying studies addressing the underlying question, assessment of heterogeneity and the risk of bias in the included studies, data extraction, and the approach to meta-analysis. Crucial issues such as selecting the model for meta-analysis, generating and interpreting forest plots, assessing the risk of publication bias, cautions in the interpretation of subgroup and sensitivity analyses, rating certainty of the evidence using GRADE guideline, and standardized reporting of meta-analysis (PRISMA) are covered in detail. Every attempt is made to keep the narrative simple and clear. Mathematical formulae are avoided as much as possible.  While the focus of this book is on systematic reviews and meta-analyses of randomised controlled trials (RCTs), the gold standard of clinical research, the essentials of systematic reviews of non-RCTs, diagnostic test accuracy studies, animal studies, individual participant data meta-analysis, and network meta-analysis are also covered.  Readers from all faculties of medicine will enjoy this comprehensive and reader friendly book to understand the principles and practice of systematic reviews and meta-analysis for guiding their clinical practice and research.

Introduction to Nursing Research, 2023

Introduction to Nursing Research: Incorporating Evidence-Based Practice, Sixth Edition provides a solid foundation for teaching and learning the basics of evidence-based practice. Giving students the tools they need to become effective practitioners, this text is a comprehensive guide for integrating evidence-based practice and research into the day-to-day work of nursing. Mastery of research will allow students training to be nurses to provide quality patient care and improve healthcare outcomes overall.As in previous editions, the authors take a thoughtful and practical approach by combining research, quality improvement, and evidence-based practice. The Sixth Edition focuses on the connection between research and evidence-based practice as a foundation for safe and effective health care. Demonstrating research establishes a foundation that will lead students to evidence-based practice.

Good Gut, Great Health, 2021

Improve your overall health by healing your digestive system with a sensible approach to food and 100 satisfying recipes. Created for the Grayshott Spa, renowned for its holistic approach to well-being, the Grayshott Plan focuses on digestive health as a route to true health. In Good Gut, Great Health, you will learn to use the Grayshott Plan to boost your energy and rebalance weight safely through a nutrient-rich diet that will give you everything you need to face the demands of modern life. The Plan dispels the misguided notion of "detoxifying" through spartan, punitive regimes and instead focuses on regaining good health by eating the right foods to aid the body's natural detoxification. The Plan recommends quality grass-fed red meats, fish, eggs, fermented foods, butter, avocado, and organic vegetables. This is not a plan of privation but a sensible, satisfying, science-based program that brings you back to feeling great.

Managing Healthcare Ethically, Volume 3, 2022

Frontline caregivers face ethical challenges that are very different from those encountered elsewhere in the organization. Healthcare professionals trained on a structured approach to identifying, analyzing, and resolving ethical issues in clinical settings can greatly improve the patient experience and the quality of care. Managing Healthcare Ethically: Clinical Challenges looks at dilemmas that occur in caring for individual patients and groups of patients in today's changing clinical environment. Assembling columns originally published in American College of Healthcare Executives publications, in particular Healthcare Executive magazine, the book describes and shares practical solutions for the ethical issues that clinical practitioners regularly encounter. It also explores the important role that ethics committees perform in developing and applying policies.

Managing Healthcare Ethically, Volume 1 2022

Healthcare leaders need to exemplify the professional values they expect from others throughout the organization. A strong ethical foundation is indispensable for making sound judgements and providing high-quality patient care. Managing Healthcare Ethically: Leadership Roles and Responsibilities highlights the issues leaders encounter in ensuring ethical performance in both their organizations and the communities they serve. This book provides specific guidance for expanding leadership skills and details relevant character traits that contribute to maintaining an ethical culture. The book features selected columns originally written for the American College of Healthcare Executives' Healthcare Executive magazine. Chosen for their relevance to today's healthcare environment, the columns share practical applications for leaders committed to ensuring an ethically grounded organization.

Graber and Wilbur's Family Medicine Examination and Board Review, Fifth Edition, 2020

Master every facet of family medicine with this comprehensive, engaging, meticulously updated guide and enjoy doing it! This is the go-to resource for students and practitioners. Whether you're studying for the boards or USMLE or looking to boost your professional knowledge, Family Medicine Examination & Board Review delivers everything you need to move to the next level of your career. Packed with 350+ progressive cases and thousands of questions with right and wrong answers explained in detail, this matchless guide provides both the information and practice required for complete mastery of the subject. This new edition gets you fully up to date with critical information on a host of topics--from health maintenance, metacognition, and diagnoses/treatments to new guidelines on cholesterol, blood pressure, heart failure, and anticoagulation--and includes a succinct guide to the recommended health maintenances for children and adults, perfect for a quick review.

CURRENT Practice Guidelines in Primary Care, 2021-2022

Guidelines and recommendations for the most common outpatient conditions--from sources you can trust! Fully Reviewed and Updated Guideline Summaries! Organized into topics related to disease screening, prevention and management, and further subdivided into organ systems for quick reference Consolidates information from government agencies, medical and scientific organizations, and expert panels into concise recommendations and guidelines Updated with more than 90 new guidelines Spans all areas of general medicine and covers primary care topics in both ambulatory and hospital settings Includes website addresses for U.S. government agencies and professional societies

Comprehensive Systematic Review for Advance Practice Nursing, 2022

A two-time AJN Book of the Year Award winner and a 2013 Doody Core Title! This distinguished text provides top-tier guidance for advanced practice nurses on how to perform a comprehensive systematic review of available research to inform scholarly work, particularly in DNP and PhD programs. With a strategic focus on the search process and assessing the quality of the evidence, this text presents, clearly and comprehensively, all of the knowledge and skills necessary to conduct a foundational CSR in eight concrete steps. This text examines how to write a CSR proposal, final report, and a policy brief based on systematic review findings. Two finished proposals and two completed systematic reviews demonstrate each step of the process from start to finish. Additionally, the text covers software used in research queries and provides helpful strategies for effectively using the search function when seeking information.

Labor and Delivery Nursing, Second Edition, 2021

The clinically oriented guide to nursing care during childbirth is distinguished by its strong focus on evidence-based practice as well as its engaging style and user-friendly format. It reviews the nursing process from admission to delivery focusing on proper surveillance and care, comprehensive data acquisition, interpretation, and teamwork. The second edition continues to help labor and delivery nurses make wise decisions in the delivery room, optimizing both maternal and fetal outcomes. It clearly explains the stages and phases of labor, delivery, and pain assessment and management-all supported by proven research. This text provides authoritative guidance on intervention options, creating patient-centered care plans, and improving communication with other members of the obstetrics team.

The 5-Minute Pediatric Consult, 2019

Make the most effective diagnostic and therapeutic decisions quickly and efficiently! Find answers fast with The 5-Minute Pediatric Consult, 8th Edition - your go-to resource for the effective medical care of infants, children, and adolescents. Using the proven 5-Minute format, it provides rapid access to information on diagnosis, treatment, medications, follow-up, and associated factors for more than 500 diseases and conditions. The 5-Minute Pediatric Consult is designed to help you make quick, accurate decisions every day ... helping you save time and offer every patient the best possible care. Get quick access to all-new topics , including Neonatal Abstinence Syndrome, Vaccine Refusal, Zika Virus, Chikungunya Virus, Transgender Youth, and Follow-up of NICU Graduates. Reorganized and updated appendix includes unique identifiers for dozens of genetic conditions, associated inheritance patterns, specific gene(s) involved, mechanism of a disease, descriptions of the associated clinical findings, and a Glossary of Genetic Syndromes important for the care of children. Find the answers you need quickly thanks to an intuitive, at-a-glance format, with concise, bulleted text; ICD-10 codes; FAQs; and much more. Consult "The 5-Minute Educator" appendix for instruction of trainees at all levels. Written by experts in the field of pediatrics and associated subspecialties and published by the leader in medical content, The 5-Minute Pediatric Consult, 8th Edition includes a 10-Day Free Trial to 5MinuteConsult.com. 5MinuteConsult.com is a quicker, more valuable, evidence-based, online workflow tool easily integrated at the point-of-care. 5MinuteConsult.com provides online-exclusive content, including: *Additional 1,500+ diseases and conditions *Semantic search - for targeted results from reliable resources including 5-Minute Clinical Consult *Online-only treatment and diagnostic algorithms *More than 3,500 patient handouts in Spanish and English *Over 200 step-by-step procedure and physical therapy videos to enhance procedural skills Consider a subscription to 5MinuteConsult.com, available for 3 years with the purchase of The 5-Minute Pediatric Consult Premium: 3-Year Enhanced Online Access + Print, 8th Edition or an online-only subscription, available at www.5MinuteConsult.com.

Musculoskeletal Radiology for Residents, 2022

This book allows residents and specialists in radiology to assess knowledge about musculoskeletal radiology. Most of the book's questions, stemming from the author's experience of teaching residents in radiology at Sahlgrenska University Hospital in Gothenburg, Sweden, are very practical and often based on differential diagnosis, which is crucial in musculoskeletal radiology. Problem-based learning is useful in deep learning and allows a better understanding of pathological processes in the bones, joints, tendons, and muscles. The questions focus on clinical problems encountered during radiological examinations like MRI (the most fascinating and difficult one for residents), CT, ultrasound, or x-rays, and are intended to stimulate the daily evaluation of examinations. The book, enriched by videos as electronic supplementary material, is written for practitioners who evaluate examinations in musculoskeletal radiology. The information contained in the book is up-to-date and consistent with the results of the current scientific researches, which can be found under the answer to each question in the form of a concise summary. The current proposal will fill a gap in the radiological literature in comprehensive self-assessment of musculoskeletal radiology and can be used by residents and young specialists.

Helping Others with Depression, 2021

A comprehensive guide to how family members and friends can help someone who has depression. Mood disorders such as depression and bipolar disorder are biologic conditions of the mind and body that affect our everyday functioning, thoughts, feelings, and actions. Often devastating to the person, mood disorders can also be overwhelming to their family and close friends, who are frequently the first to recognize the subtle changes and symptoms of depression and the ones who provide daily support. Yet many feel unsure about how to help someone through the course of this difficult and disabling illness. This book is written for them. In Helping Others with Depression, Dr. Susan J. Noonan speaks firsthand from her perspective as a physician who has treated many patients, as a mental health Certified Peer Specialist, and as a patient with personal experience in living with the illness. Her combined professional and personal experiences have enabled her to write an evidence-based, concise, and practical guide to caring for someone who has depression or bipolar disorder, including men, women, teens, and seniors.

COVID -19 Information

Coronavirus

Military Health Services Coronavirus information.

LitCovid

LitCovid is a curated literature hub for tracking up-to-date scientific information about the 2019 novel Coronavirus. It is the most comprehensive resource on the subject, providing a central access to 72516 (and growing) relevant articles in PubMed. The articles are updated daily and are further categorized by different research topics and geographic locations for improved access. You can learn more at Chen et al. Nature (2020) or our FAQ, and download our data here.

Request Services

Fill out the appropriate form and save it.

Click on the envelope to email and attach your request form.

Library Team

Virgie Paul, MLS

Medical Librarian

 virgie.d.paul.civ@mail.mil

571-231-3721

Judith Stern, MLIS

Library Technician

judith.e.stern.civ@mail.mil

571-231-2540

Authors at FBCH

Hind Baydoun- FBCH

Beydoun MA, Noren Hooten N, Weiss J, Beydoun HA, Hossain S, Evans MK, Zonderman AB. Plasma neurofilament light and its association with all-cause mortality risk among urban middle-aged men and women. BMC Med. 2022 Jun 13;20(1):218. doi: 10.1186/s12916-022-02425-x. PMID: 35692046.

Derek T. Larson-FBCH

Epsi NJ, Richard SA, Lindholm DA, Mende K, Ganesan A, Huprikar N, Lalani T, Fries AC, Maves RC, Colombo RE, Larson DT, Smith A, Chi SW, Maldonado CJ, Ewers EC, Jones MU, Berjohn CM, Libraty DH, Edwards MS, English C, Rozman JS, Mody RM, Colombo CJ, Samuels EC, Nwachukwu P, Tso MS, Scher AI, Byrne C, Rusiecki J, Simons MP, Tribble D, Broder CC, Agan BK, Burgess TH, Laing ED, Pollett SD; EPICC COVID-19 Cohort Study Group. Understanding 'hybrid immunity': comparison and predictors of humoral immune responses to SARS-CoV-2 infection and COVID-19 vaccines. Clin Infect Dis. 2022 May 24:ciac392. doi: 10.1093/cid/ciac392. Epub ahead of print. PMID: 35608504.

Hind Beydoun - FBCH

Beydoun MA, Beydoun HA, Fanelli-Kuczmarski MT, Weiss J, Hossain S, Canas JA, Evans MK, Zonderman AB. Association of Serum Antioxidant Vitamins and Carotenoids With Incident Alzheimer Disease and All-Cause Dementia Among US Adults. Neurology. 2022 May 24;98(21):e2150-e2162. doi: 10.1212/WNL.0000000000200289. Epub 2022 May 4. PMID: 35508396; PMCID: PMC9169941.

Aniceto Navarro - FBCH

Robbins R, Helmer D, Monahan P, Hunt S, McAndrew L, Nazario M, Brown WJ, Chao W, Navarro A, Sall J. Management of Chronic Multisymptom Illness: Synopsis of the 2021 US Department of Veterans Affairs and US Department of Defense Clinical Practice Guideline. Mayo Clin Proc. 2022 May;97(5):991-1002. doi: 10.1016/j.mayocp.2022.01.031. Epub 2022 Apr 9. PMID: 35410746.

Jeffrey Bevan - FBCH

Collen J, Capaldi VF, Williams SG, Labra C, Assefa SZ, Abdelwadoud M, Mullins CD, Manber R, Mahoney A, Bevan J, Drake CL, Albrecht JS, Edwards H, Grandner MA, Wickwire EM. Moving Beyond "Leaning In"-It Is Time to Reach Out and Partner to Solve the Military Sleep Problem. Mil Med. 2022 May 3;187(5-6):158. doi: 10.1093/milmed/usab530. PMID: 34964479.

Health Awareness

Cataract Awareness Month

Alzheimer's & Brain Awareness Month

Men's Health Month

PTSD Awareness Month

Hernia Awareness Month

About the Library

 

Library Location:

Fort Belvoir Community Hospital 

9300 DeWitt Loop

Sunrise Pavilion - 1st Floor - Room 902

Fort Belvoir, VA 22060

 

Library Hours:

0730 - 1630 Monday - Friday

Closed weekends and Holidays.

(After hour access is available for providers * please ask a library team member)

 

Library Email address:

dha.belvoir.ncr-medical.mbx.fbch-library@mail.mil

 

 

Library COVID-19 Policies:

Please wear a mask and practice social distancing at all times while in the library.

NO EATING OR DRINKING IN THE LIBRARY 

We take measures to keep you safe!

The library staff disinfects the computers, door handles and desk tops each day.   We have implemented social distancing on each row of computers.  CaviWipes and gloves are available if you would like to disinfect a computer before use.   We strive for all to be safe as you pursue your information needs here in the library.  

Be Safe!

Thank you.