Clinical Leadership in Nursing and Healthcare offers a range of tools and topics that support and foster clinically focused nurses and other healthcare professionals to develop their leadership skills and strategies. The textbook is helpfully divided into three parts: information on the attributes of clinical leaders, the tools healthcare students and staff can use to develop their leadership potential, and clinical leadership issues. It also outlines a number of principles, frameworks, and topics that support nurses and healthcare professionals to develop and deliver effective clinical care as clinical leaders. Lastly, each chapter has a range of reflective questions and self-assessments to help consolidate learning.
Written by military nurses, the Battlefield and Disaster Nursing Pocket Guide is the premier quick reference guide for battlefield nurses on the front lines. This pocket guide contains critical assessment and treatment information, as well as numerous medication guides to ensure accurate care in the field. The care of patients with injuries received on the battlefield or in a disaster setting is specialized. Traumatic injuries on the battlefield may be more complex or unlike injuries seen in the hospital setting. In addition, the battlefield or disaster scene adds a further level of complexity to medical care. Designed to fit in the pocket of a uniform and endure rigorous field conditions, this unique pocket guide provides state-of-the-art, evidence-based recommendations for providing nursing care under exceptional conditions.
Prepare for your Certified Medical-Surgical Registered Nurse (CMSRN®) or Medical-Surgical Nursing Certification (MEDSURG-BC™) exam with Medical-Surgical Nursing Certification Practice Q&A. With 600 high-quality questions and comprehensive rationales based on the most recent MSNCB and ANCC exam blueprints, this essential resource is designed to help you study your way: sharpen your specialty knowledge with practice Q&A organized by exam topic or strengthen your test-taking skills with two 150-question practice exams.
Public and Community Health Nursing: Expanding the Learning Experience explores critical issues in public and community health revealed by the COVID-19 pandemic, particularly its impact on the nursing profession and healthcare delivery globally. The book evaluates the recent challenges faced by healthcare professionals and underscores the importance of integrating public and community health into healthcare practice and education. It emphasizes the need to recognize that public and community health are vital for the wellbeing of individuals, families, populations, communities, and global health.
Medical-Surgical Nursing Certification Review: A Practical Guide is designed to help you prepare for both the MSNCB Certified Medical-Surgical Registered Nurse (CMSRN®) and ANCC Medical-Surgical Nursing Certification (MEDSURG-BC™) certification exams. This comprehensive study aid begins with information about the exams, legal and professional issues, and a homeostasis chapter focused on the core concepts of medical-surgical nursing and bedside emergencies. The remaining chapters are organized by body system and are presented in a concise, easy to follow format which includes pharmacology, laboratory, and diagnostic tables throughout. Relevant case studies, key takeaways, test-taking tips, and illustrations are incorporated to help clarify key concepts.
Introducing our Med Surg Certification Review Book: 2 Practice Tests and CMSRN Exam Study Guide for Medical Surgical Nursing Prep!
Ascencia Test Prep's Med Surg Certification Review Book includes everything you need to pass the Certified Medical-Surgical Nursing Exam the first time.
Ascencia Test Prep’s Med Surg Certification Review Book is aligned with the CMSRN Exam framework. Topics covered include:
The thoroughly updated Lippincott Review for Medical-Surgical Nursing Certification, 7th Edition, offers the most current content found on the Certified Medical-Surgical Registered Nurse (CMSRN) exam, and plenty of practice questions. This popular study guide covers the full range of exam content -- from disorders, signs and symptoms, tests, and assessments to treatments and interventions. Whether you are a new or experienced nurse, this comprehensive review offers all the information -- and opportunities to practice -- that you need to pass the test.
Short case studies, based on real stories from the health care arena, ensure that each chapter of this book is rooted in descriptions of nursing practise that are grounded, salient narratives of nursing care. The reader is assisted to explore the ethical dimension of nursing practice: what it is and how it can be portrayed, discussed, and analysed within a variety of practice and theoretical contexts. One of the unique contributions of this book is to consider nursing not only in the context of the individual nurse – patient relationship but also as a social good that is of necessity limited, due to the ultimate limits on the nursing and health care resource.
The single best resource for learning how technology can make the nursing experience as rewarding and successful as possibleA Doody's Core Title for 2024 & 2023! Essentials of Nursing Informatics provides the information and insights readers need to manage and process data to improve the quality and outcomes of healthcare. Topics include the use of computers in nursing administration, practice, education, and research; computer systems and information theory; electronic medical records, continuum of care information technology systems, and personal health records; coding; and government, clinical, and private sector system requirements. This revised and updated edition covers the latest changes in technology, administration, policy, and their effects on healthcare informatics in the U.S., with contributing international authors from Canada, South America, Europe, Asia, Australia, and New Zealand. The seventh edition includes section summaries, and each chapter includes sample test questions and answers. This updated seventh edition covers: Nursing Informatics Technologies Nursing Practice Applications System Standards Advanced Applications for the 4th Nursing IT Revolution System Life Cycle Educational Applications Informatics Theory Standards Research Applications Policies and Quality Measures in Healthcare
"The profession of nursing is dynamic; future education and practice directions will continue to promote integrity, increased accountability, reliability, and competency-based education. Oncology nursing remains at the forefront of imparting new knowledge and performance standards. The development of this new edition of Advanced Oncology Nursing Certification Review and Resource Manual and all previous edition was in response to requests from the Oncology Nursing Society (ONS) advanced oncology certification review course participants seeking additional resources. Since its first publication, Advanced Oncology Nursing Certification Review and Resource Manual has been a valuable resource for thousands of oncology practitioners across all roles, care settings, and systems. The goals of this third edition are fourfold. The first is to provide a comprehensive review for oncology advanced practice nurses (APNs) who are preparing to sit for any Oncology Nursing Certification Corporation (ONCC) advanced oncology certification exam. The second goal is to provide a comprehensive clinical resource for oncology APNs. The third is to provide a comprehensive overview of oncology advanced practice for faculty and students in graduate oncology nursing education. The fourth is to introduce the recently approved American Association of Colleges of Nursing Essentials: Core competencies for professional nursing education, which re-envisions nursing education. This paradigm shift promotes alignment with newly defined Level 2 competencies and subcompetencies for advanced-level nursing education specialty and role requirements (see www. aacnnursing.org/essentials)"--
This new edition of the classic textbook on health informatics provides readers in healthcare practice and educational settings with an unparalleled depth of information on using informatics methods and tools. However, this new text speaks to nurses and -- in a departure from earlier editions of this title -- to all health professionals in direct patient care, regardless of their specialty, extending its usefulness as a textbook. This includes physicians, therapists, pharmacists, dieticians and many others. In recognition of the evolving digital environments in all healthcare settings and of interprofessional teams, the book is designed for a wide spectrum of healthcare professions including quality officers, health information managers, administrators and executives, as well as health information technology professionals such as engineers and computer scientists in health care. The book is of special interest to those who bridge the technical and caring domain, particularly nurse and medical informaticians and other informaticians working in the health sciences. Nursing Informatics: An Interprofessional and Global Perspective contains real-life case studies and other didactic features to illustrate the theories and principles discussed, making it an ideal resource for use within health and nursing informatics curricula at both undergraduate and graduate level, as well as for workforce development. It honors the format established by the previous editions by including a content array and questions to guide the reader. Readers are invited to look out of the box through a dedicated global perspective covering health informatics applications in different regions, countries and continents.
Lynda Carpenito's best-selling, Handbook of Nursing Diagnosis, now in an impressive sixteenth edition, is the ideal quick reference for nursing diagnosis information. This trusted handbook covers the NANDA-I Nursing Diagnoses 2021-2023 and offers practical guidance on nursing diagnoses and associated care. The quick-reference type scope of content makes it easy for students to use while in clinical, in the classroom or simulation lab. From goals to specific interventions, Handbook of Nursing Diagnosis focuses on nursing. It provides a condensed, organized outline of clinical nursing practice designed to communicate creative clinical nursing. It is not meant to replace nursing textbooks, but rather to provide nurses who work in a variety of settings with the information they need without requiring a time-consuming review of the literature. It will assist students in transferring their theoretical knowledge to clinical practice.
This volume provides computer literacy basics as well as an introduction to the software applications most vital in today's nursing and health care fields. This remarkably comprehensive reference for nursing and health care professionals at all levels is an accessible guide to the cutting-edge technology that makes readers effective members of the health care team.
Learn the clinical nursing skills you will use everyday and prepare for success on the Next Generation NCLEX Examination with this clear, step-by-step guide. Featuring more than 1200 full-colorillustrations, a nursing process framework, and a focus on evidencepbased practice, this manual helps you learn to think critically, ask the right questions at the right time, and make timely decisions.
**Selected for Doody's Core Titles(R) 2024 with "Essential Purchase" designation in Critical Care** Edited by the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses and written by more than 100 critical care experts under the direction of Karen L. Johnson, PhD, RN, FAAN, this definitive reference represents the gold standard of care for procedures performed in progressive and critical care settings. It guides you through procedures common to the adult critical care environment, including those performed by advanced practice nurses, in an illustrated, step-by-step format.
In today’s quickly changing healthcare environment, simulation has become an indispensable strategy for preparing nursing students to deliver optimal patient care. Clinical Simulations in Nursing Education: Advanced Concepts, Trends, and Opportunities, Second Edition, takes the use of simulations to the next level, exploring innovative teaching/learning methods, new clinical models, and up-to-date best practices for providing high-quality education. From the evolution of clinical simulations to the use of more virtual simulations, incorporation of important constructs such as the social determinants of health, and the use of simulations in nursing education and competency-based testing, this engaging resource continues to provide intermediate and advanced simulation users and advocates with critical considerations for advancing simulation in nursing education
Who says studying has to be boring? The Illustrated Study Guide for the NCLEX-PN(R) Exam, 10th Edition uses colorful drawings and mnemonic cartoons to bring difficult concepts to life and help you recall the content you need to know to excel on the NCLEX-PN examination. Written in a concise and visually appealing outline format, this book makes learning and studying easier and more fun. The companion Evolve website includes more than 3,000 review questions, including alternate item and Next Generation NCLEX(R) formats, and allows you to personalize your study by creating practice exams, identifying strengths and weaknesses, and reviewing answers and rationales.
Meet the diverse health care needs of older adults!
Explore effective ways to enhance the wellness and independence of older adults across the wellness-illness continuum, including acute, primary, and long-term care.
From an overview of the theories of aging and assessment through the treatment of disorders, including complex illnesses, this evidence-based book provides the comprehensive gerontological coverage you need to prepare for your role as an Advanced Practice Nurse. With information on healthy aging, comprehensive geriatric assessment, and common symptoms and illnesses that present in older adults, this text serves as a guide for students preparing for boards, as well as a reliable source of information for practicing nurses.
The NCLEX-RN exam is not just about what you know—it’s about how you think. With expert critical thinking strategies and targeted practice, Kaplan’s Next Generation NCLEX-RN Prep 2023-2024 will help you leverage your nursing knowledge and face the exam with confidence. Fully revised for the April 2023 test change, this edition scrutinizes the Next Generation NCLEX question types and spells out how to answer each.
Learn the concepts and skills and develop the clinical judgment you need to provide excellent nursing care! Fundamentals of Nursing, 11th Edition prepares you to succeed as a nurse by providing a solid foundation in critical thinking, clinical judgment, nursing theory, evidence-based practice, and patient-centered care in all settings. With illustrated, step-by-step guidelines, this book makes it easy to learn important skills and procedures. Care plans are presented within a nursing process framework that is coordinated with clinical judgement, and case studies show how to apply concepts to nursing practice.
HESI Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-PN® Examination, 7th Edition provides a complete, all-in-one review of the information that you need to know. Written in an easy-to-read outline format, this study guide reviews content by concepts and clinical areas. Along the way, valuable tips from HESI® help you apply principles of clinical decision-making and clinical judgment. With almost 1,000 practice questions in both study and exam formats, the companion Evolve website enables you to practice test-taking in the same electronic format you will experience on nursing school exit exams and on the NCLEX-PN exam.
Find the essential information you need to safely administer more than 400 intravenous drugs! For nearly 50 years, Elsevier's Intravenous Medications: A Handbook for Nurses and Health Professionals has been a trusted resource for complete, accurate drug information in a concise, quick-access format. New to the 2024 edition are 8 monographs of the most recent IV drugs to be approved by the FDA, in addition to updated drug uses, interactions, precautions, alerts, and patient teaching instructions for all current IV drugs.
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022! Confidently Perform Accurate, Efficient, and Effective Physical Examinations. Master the techniques for successful physical examinations with the #1 choice for complete, authoritative guidance. This highly regarded text in book-only format includes fully-illustrated, step-by-step techniques that outline the correct performance of the physical examination and an easy-to-follow two-column format that correlates examination techniques on the left and abnormalities (clearly indicated in red) with differential diagnoses on the right. NEW! Expanded Unit 1provides an overview of the components of the patient encounter and helps you ensure the most effective information-gathering and decision-making approaches.
Offering a holistic, comprehensive understanding of essential skills grounded in compassionate patient care Lippincott Textbook for Nursing Assistants: A Humanistic Approach to Caregiving, 6th Edition, not only equips students for success as nursing assistants in any healthcare setting but empowers them to pursue career opportunities throughout the healthcare field. Easy to read and rich with dynamic images and illustrations, this straightforward, conversational text clarifies the technical, communication, and critical thinking skills behind successful nursing assisting while fostering the humanistic perspective integral to meeting the individual needs of patients, residents, and clients
Focus on the most important concepts in progressive and critical care nursing with Priorities in Critical Care Nursing, 9th Edition. Ideal for students, practicing nurses undergoing in-service training for progressive and critical care, and progressive or critical care nurses reviewing for PCCN® or CCRN® certification, this trusted, evidence-based textbook uses the latest, most authoritative research to help you identify patient priorities in order to safely and expertly manage patient care. Succinct coverage of all core progressive and critical care nursing topics includes medications, patient safety, patient education, problem identification, and interprofessional collaborative management. You will learn how to integrate the technology of progressive and critical care with the physiological needs and psychosocial concerns of patients and families to provide the highest-quality care. Need-to-know content reflects the realities of today's progressive and critical care environments.
This straightforward guide to evidence-based practice helps you to develop the knowledge and skills necessary to cvhallenge practice that is not underpinned by research and to increase your understanding of the processes involeved in accessing, aprraising, and synthesizing good quality research.
Palliative Care Nursing: Caring for Suffering Patients continues to explore the concept of suffering as it relates to nursing practice in an updated new edition. This text helps practicing nurses and students define and recognize various aspects of suffering across the lifespan and within various patient populations, while providing guidance in alleviating suffering. In addition, the authors discuss ways nurses that witness suffering can optimize their own coping skills and facilitate personal growth. The Second Edition aligns with the recently updated ELNEC and AACN competencies and features three new chapters discussing advance care planning, palliative care for those with serious illnesses, and strategies for having difficult conversations with patients and families.
Davis Advantage for Understanding Medical-Surgical Nursing is a complete, integrated solution that combines the power of a student-focused textbook with an interactive, personalized learning, clinical judgment, and quizzing experience to engage students, help them make the connections to key topics, and prepare them for the Next Gen NCLEX®. An access code inside new, printed textbooks unlocks access to Davis Advantage as well as an ebook.
Concept-Based Clinical Nursing Skills: Fundamental to Advanced Competencies, 2nd Edition covers more than 250 nursing skills in an innovative concept-based format. Unlike any other text, Stein and Hollen incorporate an overarching framework of seven critical concepts - accuracy, person-centered care, infection control, safety, communication, evaluation, and health maintenance - to drive home the importance of these key themes in performing nursing skills and developing nursing competencies. Every chapter includes a detailed case study with a concept map to help you apply your knowledge to clinical situations involving nursing skills. The nursing process is seamlessly integrated within the skills, and Next-Generation NCLEX® question types strengthen your critical thinking and clinical judgment skills. This fully referenced text identifies and applies credible researched-based knowledge that comprises the knowledge for nursing practice. NEW! 12 Faculty Simulation Guides (for use by instructors) employ the NCSBN® Clinical Judgment Measurement Model and AACN Essentials competencies to help students identify, anticipate, and apply the steps of the Clinical Judgement Measurement Model and focus on key competencies.
The sixth edition of this acclaimed neonatal nursing text is completely updated to encompass the most current research findings and strategies for providing cost-effective and evidence-based care. It continues to address neonatal care from a physiologic and pathophysiologic perspective, with a major emphasis on nursing management at the bedside and advanced practice level. It examines each neonatal body system and describes evidence-based interventions that assist in understanding the 'why' behind various clinical presentations. Integrative management is threaded throughout the text along with extensive research findings to support practice strategies and rationales for sound clinical decision-making.
Streamlined, redesigned, and revised by a new author team, the 3rd Edition of this AJN Book-of-the-Year Award winner offers the perfect balance of maternal and child nursing care with the right depth and breadth of coverage for students in today's maternity/pediatric courses. And, it's accompanied by six online bonus chapters covering the role of the nurse in promoting women's health. A unique emphasis on optimizing outcomes, evidence-based practice, and research supports the goal of caring for women, families, and children, not only in traditional hospital settings, but also wherever they live, work, study, or play. Clear, concise, and easy to follow, the content is organized around four major themes, holistic care, critical thinking, validating practice, and tools for care that help students to learn and apply the material
Develop your management and nursing leadership skills! Leadership & Nursing Care Management, 7th Edition focuses on best practices to help you learn to effectively manage interdisciplinary teams, client needs, and systems of care. A research-based approach includes realistic cases studies showing how to apply management principles to nursing practice. Arranged by American Organization for Nursing Leadership (AONL) competencies, the text addresses topics such as staffing and scheduling, budgeting, team building, legal and ethical issues, and measurement of outcomes. Written by noted nursing educators Diane L. Huber and Maria Lindell Joseph, this edition includes new Next Generation NCLEX® content to prepare you for success on the NGN certification exam.
Master the essentials of maternity and pediatric nursing with this comprehensive, all-in-one text! Maternal Child Nursing Care, 7th Edition covers the issues and concerns of women during their childbearing years and children during their developing years. It uses a family-centered, problem-solving approach to patient care, with guidelines supported by evidence-based practice. New to this edition is an emphasis on clinical judgment skills and a new chapter on children with integumentary dysfunction. Written by a team of experts led by Shannon E. Perry and Marilyn J. Hockenberry, this book provides the accurate information you need to succeed in the classroom, the clinical setting, and on the Next Generation NCLEX-RN® examination. Focus on the family throughout the text emphasizes the influence of the entire family in health and illness.
Professional Nursing Concepts: Competencies for Quality Leadership, Fifth Edition takes a patient-centered, traditional approach to the topic of nursing education. An ideal text for teaching students how to transition from the classroom to practice, it focuses on the core competencies for health professionals as determined by the Institute of Medicine (IOM).Completely updated and revised, the Fifth Edition content on epidemics and pandemics (specifically COVID-19), minority health, integrating social care into health care, infection control and prevention, competency-based education, motivational interviewing, Healthy People 2020, and more. Students can stay engaged with Stop and Consider statements that examine key topics from a personal and a clinical point-of-view, and with End-of-Chapter Special Teaching Learning Features that encourage students to interact with the content in dynamic ways, from group discussions to reflection journals to designing their own clinical case scenarios.
A two-time AJN Book of the Year Award winner and a 2013 Doody Core Title! This distinguished text provides top-tier guidance for advanced practice nurses on how to perform a comprehensive systematic review of available research to inform scholarly work, particularly in DNP and PhD programs. With a strategic focus on the search process and assessing the quality of the evidence, this text presents, clearly and comprehensively, all of the knowledge and skills necessary to conduct a foundational CSR in eight concrete steps. This text examines how to write a CSR proposal, final report, and a policy brief based on systematic review findings. Two finished proposals and two completed systematic reviews demonstrate each step of the process from start to finish. Additionally, the text covers software used in research queries and provides helpful strategies for effectively using the search function when seeking information.
The world's most widely used nursing research textbook, Essentials of Nursing Research, Tenth Edition equips students with everything they need to confidently apply research to nursing practice. AJN award-winning authors Denise Polit and Cheryl Beck clarify the language of nursing research and instill a practical understanding of nursing research fundamentals and the research process for both quantitative and qualitative studies -- including design principles; sampling and data collection; criteria for assessing data quality; appraising the quality, rigor, and trustworthiness of studies; and approaches to understand the statistical results. This updated edition incorporates the latest clinical insights and approaches to research to familiarize students with increasingly important considerations in today's nursing practice, including the involvement of patients and stakeholders in translating research evidence to local settings; the appraisal of not only the rigor of research designs and methods but also the relevance and applicability of practice-based evidence; and the effective use of research in local quality improvement (QI) projects.
Evidence based medicine is at the core of modern medicine. It involves the integration of individual clinical expertise with the best available clinical evidence from systematic research and patient's values and expectations. Systematic reviews offer a summary of the best available evidence. They are the most reliable and comprehensive statement about what works. Written by clinical academics from Australia, UK, USA, and Switzerland, this contributed volume introduces the readers to the principles and practice of systematic reviews and meta-analysis. It covers the various steps involved in systematic reviews including development of a focused question and the strategy for conducting a comprehensive literature search, identifying studies addressing the underlying question, assessment of heterogeneity and the risk of bias in the included studies, data extraction, and the approach to meta-analysis. Crucial issues such as selecting the model for meta-analysis, generating and interpreting forest plots, assessing the risk of publication bias, cautions in the interpretation of subgroup and sensitivity analyses, rating certainty of the evidence using GRADE guideline, and standardized reporting of meta-analysis (PRISMA) are covered in detail. Every attempt is made to keep the narrative simple and clear. Mathematical formulae are avoided as much as possible. While the focus of this book is on systematic reviews and meta-analyses of randomised controlled trials (RCTs), the gold standard of clinical research, the essentials of systematic reviews of non-RCTs, diagnostic test accuracy studies, animal studies, individual participant data meta-analysis, and network meta-analysis are also covered. Readers from all faculties of medicine will enjoy this comprehensive and reader friendly book to understand the principles and practice of systematic reviews and meta-analysis for guiding their clinical practice and research.
All-In-One Nursing Care Planning Resource, 6th ed. 2024. by 
Basic Steps in Planning Nursing Research: from Question to Proposal by 
Clinical Companion: Medical-Surgical Nursing: Concepts for Clinical Judgment and Collaborative Care, 11th ed. 2024. by 
Clinical Companion to Lewis's Medical-Surgical Nursing, 12th ed. 2023. by Clinical Nursing Skills and Techniques, 11th Edition. 2025. by 
Evidence-Based Nursing by 
Evidence-Based Practice for Nursing and Healthcare Quality Improvement by 
Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2025, 1st Edition by 
Manual of Critical Care Nursing, 8th ed. 2022. by 
Mosby's 2024 Nursing Drug Reference, 37th ed. 2024. by 
Mosby's® Diagnostic and Laboratory Test Reference, 16th ed. 2023. by 
Preparing Nurses for Disaster Management. 2023. by 
Telephone Triage Protocols for Nurses, 6th ed. 2020. by 
Fill out the appropriate form and save it.
Click on the envelope to email and attach your request form.
Eileen M. Anderson
Library Technician
eileen.m.anderson22.civ@health.mil
571-231-2540