Departments: Infectious Diseases

Infection Prevention: New Perspectives and Controversies, 2nd ed. 2022.

The first edition of Infection Prevention reviewed evolving areas in infection prevention on topics including contact precautions, technology implementation, specific infections, and care in various settings. It summarized the current data on infection prevention, presents controversies on the various topics, and includes recommendations for patient safety. Addressing hot topics such as MRSA, C. difficile vaccination, mandatory flu vaccines, and CLABSI, this is the only text to include prevention and control overviews across a range of infection issues. Written by experts in the field, this successor edition will update current chapters on the most cutting-edge models of care on emerging and evolving topics in infectious diseases. It will also include new material and chapters on high-level disinfection, diagnostic test stewardship, unique pathogens units, outpatient antibiotic stewardship, outpatient antibiotic therapy, as well as a chapter on infection prevention metrics: how much can we prevent healthcare associated infections and how hard should we try.

Manual of Clinical Microbiology, 4 Volume Set, 2023

Revised by a collaborative, international, interdisciplinary team of editors and authors, this edition of the Manual of Clinical Microbiology includes the latest applications of genomics and proteomics and is filled with current findings regarding infectious agents, leading-edge diagnostic methods, laboratory practices, and safety guidelines. This edition also features four new chapters: Diagnostic Stewardship in Clinical Microbiology; Salmonella; Escherichia and Shigella; and Morganellaceae, Erwiniaceae, Hafniaceae, and Selected Enterobacterales. This seminal reference of microbiology continues to set the standard for state-of-the-science laboratory practice as the most authoritative reference in the field of microbiology.

Preventing Occupational Exposures to Infectious Disease in Health Care, 2020

This book is a practical guide for preventing occupational exposures to bloodborne and infectious disease in health care. It is a timely and essential resource given that people working in healthcare settings sustain a higher incidence of occupational illness than any other industry sector, and at the time of publication of this book we are in the midst of a global pandemic of COVID-19. While the guide is focused on health care primarily, it would be useful for preventing exposures to essential workers in many other industries as well. The guide offers easy-to-follow instruction, all in one place, for creating, implementing, and evaluating occupational health and safety programs.

Red Book 2021

"Refer to the Red Book." That's been the watchword for generations of healthcare professionals seeking trustworthy guidance on pediatric infectious disease prevention, management, and control. Now the 32nd edition continues this tradition of excellence with the latest clinical guidance on the manifestations, etiology, epidemiology, diagnosis and treatment of more than 200 childhood infectious diseases. The 32nd edition provides evidence-based guidance on pediatric infections and vaccinations based on the recommendations of the committee as well as the combined expertise of the CDC, FDA, and hundreds of physician contributors. Red Book® is an indispensable reference for pediatricians and pediatric infectious disease specialists and is useful for family medicine and emergency medicine physicians as well. Public health and school health professionals, medical residents, and students also will find it a high-yield source of pediatric infectious disease and vaccine information.

Critical Care of Covid-19 in the Emergency Department, 2021.

This book functions as a comprehensive manual for emergency care providers who are treating critically ill COVID-19 patients. Beginning with an overview of the COVID-19 infection and an examination of the patients who received critical care from hospital emergency departments around the country, this book provides clinicians with a guide to best-practices in everything from personal protection while deploying critical care to COVID-19 patients to evaluation and diagnosis of the illness. Subsequent chapters break down care of various comorbidities seen in COVID-19 patients and the care offered to patients suffering from the illness in a multitude of ways. Closing chapters examine how emergency departments can best prepare for potential surges in COVID-19 patients as the illness continues to develop, providing important information on how to best protect hospital employees and best care for future patients in a constantly shifting landscape.

Mayhall's Hospital Epidemiology and Infection Prevention, 2021.

The fifth edition of Mayhall's Hospital Epidemiology and Infection Prevention has a new streamlined focus, with new editors and contributors, a new two-color format, and a new title. Continuing the legacy of excellence established by Dr. C. Glen Mayhall, this thoroughly revised text covers all aspects of healthcare-associated infections and their prevention and remains the most comprehensive reference available in this complex field. It examines every type of healthcare-associated (nosocomial) infection and addresses every issue relating to surveillance, prevention, and control of these infections in patients and in healthcare personnel, providing unparalleled coverage for hospital epidemiologists and infectious disease specialists. Covers the basics of hospital epidemiology and infection prevention, types of healthcare-associated infections, details of specific pathogens (bacterial, mycobacterial, fungal, and viral), special populations, prevention of infections related to specific procedures as well as the hospital environment, antibiotic stewardship, occupational health, and emergency preparedness, among other key topics. F

Clinical Cases in Tropical Medicine, 2022

Using an easily accessible, highly templated format, Clinical Cases in Tropical Medicine, 2nd Edition, provides more than 100 realistic scenarios for tropical infectious diseases. Full-color photographs and maps, a convenient question-and-answer presentation, and succinct summary boxes help you identify and understand the tropical diseases you're likely to encounter. This up-to-date 2nd Edition is an excellent resource and study tool for infectious diseases fellows, doctors preparing for exams in tropical medicine, primary care doctors with patients who are global travelers, and global health nurses and practitioners alike. Offers realistic scenarios for encountering patients in rural, resource-poor settings, presenting cases as "unknowns," just as in a real clinic or emergency situation.

Modern Epidemiology, 4th ed. 2021.

Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022 and 2023! Now in a fully revised 4th Edition, Modern Epidemiology remains the gold standard text in this complex and evolving field, offering unparalleled, comprehensive coverage of the principles and methods of epidemiologic research. Covers a broad range of concepts and methods, including epidemiologic measures of occurrence and effect, study designs, validity, precision, statistical interference, field methods, and causal diagrams. Includes data analysis topics such as Bayesian analysis, sensitivity analysis, and bias analysis, with an extensive overview of modern regression methods including logistic and survival regression, splines, hierarchical (multilevel) regression, propensity scores and other scoring methods, and g-estimation. Discusses special topics such as disease surveillance, ecologic studies, social epidemiology, infectious disease epidemiology, genetic and molecular epidemiology, nutritional epidemiology, environmental epidemiology, reproductive epidemiology, clinical epidemiology, and meta-analysis.

Epidemiology and Prevention of Vaccine-Preventable Diseases, 14th ed. 2021.

Developed by subject matter experts at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), Epidemiology and Prevention of Vaccine-Preventable Diseases, 14th Edition, "The Pink Book" contains current, credible, and comprehensive information on common vaccine-preventable diseases and provides those who administer immunizations with the latest information on: principles of vaccination, general best practice guidance on immunization, immunization strategies for healthcare practices and providers, child/adolescent/adult immunization schedules, vaccination data and statistics. The Pink Book, 14th Edition serves as an all-in-one reference guide of routine vaccines and includes a wealth of new and updated material.

Eileen M. Anderson

Library Technician

eileen.m.anderson22.civ@health.mil

571-231-2540