Dr. Paul L. Marino's concise, engaging writing style is just one of many reasons that Marino's The ICU Book is the best-selling reference in critical care. This highly regarded, full-color resource contains the essential information needed to care for patients in any ICU, regardless of the specialty designation of the unit. The newly revised Fifth Edition continues the focus on practical aspects of patient care and will appeal to anyone with an interest in the care of critically ill patients. The intended audience incudes medical students, interns and residents in medicine, surgery, and anesthesiology, critical care physicians and nurses, physician's assistants, respiratory therapists, and paramedics. The text has been completely rewritten and incorporates the latest concepts and most recent clinical practice guidelines. Because this is a single-author text, the writing and style are consistent from chapter to chapter, and redundancies are held to a minimum. New chapters have been added on fluid management, approaches to clinical shock, acute pulmonary embolism, liver failure, and acute pancreatitis.
Using an easy-to-read style, Avoiding Common Errors in the Emergency Department, Third Edition, discusses 365 topics in which errors are frequently committed in the practice of emergency medicine. The authors give practical, easy-to-remember key points for avoiding these pitfalls. Chapters are brief, evidence-based, and easy-to-read immediately before the start of a shift, used for quick reference during a shift, or read daily over the course of one year for personal growth and review.
**Selected for Doody's Core Titles(R) 2024 with "Essential Purchase" designation in Critical Care** Edited by the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses and written by more than 100 critical care experts under the direction of Karen L. Johnson, PhD, RN, FAAN, this definitive reference represents the gold standard of care for procedures performed in progressive and critical care settings. It guides you through procedures common to the adult critical care environment, including those performed by advanced practice nurses, in an illustrated, step-by-step format.
Based on the highly regarded Walls Manual of Emergency Airway Management and part of the Manual of Emergency Medicine series envisioned by leading authority in emergency medicine, Dr. Ron M. Walls, Manual of Eye, Ear, Nose, and Throat Emergencies provides evidence-based, easy-to-read coverage of these commonly seen emergencies. Through the direction and expertise of lead editor Dr. Daniel J. Egan and associate editors Drs. Gareth M.C. Lema, Di (Fan) Coneybeare, and Marita S. Teng, this reference is a practical guide to approaching the patient with an EENT complaint in a systematic way, providing a hands-on framework for clinical decision making and therapeutic interventions.&
Bridging the gap between medical and surgical specialties in critical care, Textbook of Critical Care, 8th Edition, offers a practical, multidisciplinary approach to the effective management of adult and pediatric patients in the ICU. An outstanding editorial team, led by world-renowned intensivist Dr. Jean-Louis Vincent, assisted by Dr. Frederick A. Moore and new editors Drs. Rinaldo Bellomo and John J. Marini, provides the evidence-based guidance you need to overcome a full range of practice challenges. A full-color art program, relevant basic science and key summary points in every chapter, and expert contributing authors from all over the world make this an indispensable resource for every member of the critical care team. Provides a concise, readable understanding of the pathophysiology of critical illness and new therapeutic approaches to critical care. Addresses both medical and surgical aspects in critical care for adult and pediatric patients in one comprehensive, easy-to-use reference. Shares the knowledge and expertise of the most recognized and trusted leaders in the field, with more international contributing authors than in previous editions. Covers new information on procedural and diagnostic ultrasound, prone positioning, ECMO, and VADs.
This is a must-have quick reference guide to antibiotic use in the emergency department. The guide helps you navigate the multitude of choices in antibiotics quickly and efficiently so you can offer your patients the best care based on the latest guidelines. With this go-to resource you can protect against overprescribing, address pediatric dosage questions, examine penicillin usage, and stay up-to-date on new approvals and guidance.
Focus on the most important concepts in progressive and critical care nursing with Priorities in Critical Care Nursing, 9th Edition. Ideal for students, practicing nurses undergoing in-service training for progressive and critical care, and progressive or critical care nurses reviewing for PCCN® or CCRN® certification, this trusted, evidence-based textbook uses the latest, most authoritative research to help you identify patient priorities in order to safely and expertly manage patient care. Succinct coverage of all core progressive and critical care nursing topics includes medications, patient safety, patient education, problem identification, and interprofessional collaborative management. You will learn how to integrate the technology of progressive and critical care with the physiological needs and psychosocial concerns of patients and families to provide the highest-quality care. Need-to-know content reflects the realities of today's progressive and critical care environments.
Careful monitoring of at-risk patients, early intervention, and timely escalation to the critical care unit from a general ward has been shown to improve patient clinical outcomes. The first text of its kind in this important area Rapid Response Events in the Critically Ill: A Case-Based Approach to Inpatient Medical Emergencies is designed to help you recognize the fundamental signs of deterioration in patients on medical wards and ensure that transfer is made to the ICU before the development of adverse clinical outcomes. Using a highly effective teaching approach preferred by both residents and fellows, this innovative text links theory to practice with a brief review of clinical cases sourced from various academic centers.
A 19-year-old student is admitted to hospital after being found unconscious in her room in the university halls of residence. Her roommate told the paramedics that the patient had recently failed her end of year exams. She was reportedly found with several packets of paracetamol and codeine phosphate nearby and an empty bottle of wine on her bedside table. You are the medic on duty... 100 Cases in Acute Medicine presents 100 acute conditions commonly seen by medical students and junior doctors in the emergency department, or on the ward or in the community setting. A succinct summary of the patient's history, examination and initial investigations, including photographs where relevant, is followed by questions on the diagnosis and management of each case. The answer includes a detailed discussion on each topic, with further illustration where appropriate, providing an essential revision aid as well as a practical guide for students and junior doctors. Making clinical decisions and choosing the best course of action is one of the most challenging and difficult parts of training to become a doctor. Fully revised and updated for this second edition, these cases will teach students and junior doctors to recognize important clinical symptoms and signs, and to develop their diagnostic and management skills.
Managing Medical and Obstetric Emergencies and Trauma provides an evidence-based, structured approach to the recognition and treatment of emergencies in pregnancy. This contemporary resource provides step-by-step guidance on the knowledge, practical skills and procedures required to improve outcomes for the mother and fetus. Now in its fourth edition, the text fully aligns with the mMOET course, and has been extensively reviewed and revised throughout. Lessons learned from mortality reports and national guidelines underpin the new material. This edition includes: New chapters on cardiac disease, neurological emergencies and human factors An update for obstetric teams treating pregnant trauma patients in line with modern trauma management Revised algorithms and new illustrations.
The third edition of Manual of Traumatic Brain Injury offers a thorough revision of the popular evidence-based guide to understanding and managing all levels of traumatic brain injury. Comprehensive in scope and concise in format, this reference describes the spectrum of injury from mild to severe and the continuum of care from initial injury to management of chronic sequelae.
This accessible, meticulously illustrated atlas provides everything you need to effectively treat wounds and conduct surgical, reconstructive, and cosmetic repairs with minimal scarring Understanding the subtleties of suture choice and placement often makes the difference between positive and negative patient outcomes. The Atlas of Suturing Techniques: Approaches to Surgical Wound, Laceration, and Cosmetic Repair, Second Edition provides the information and insight readers need to surgically treat a range of wounds and surgical defects--from simple lacerations to complex reconstructive surgery--with the utmost expertise.
On the battlefield, seconds count. PHTLS: Prehospital Trauma Life Support, Military Ninth Edition teaches and reinforces the principles of rapidly assessing a trauma patient using an orderly approach, immediately treating life-threatening problems as they are identified, and minimizing any delays in initiating transport to an appropriate destination. Developed by the National Association of Emergency Medical Technicians (NAEMT) in cooperation with the American College of Surgeons Committee on Trauma (ASC-COT), PHTLS, the Military Ninth Edition reflects current, evidence-based knowledge and practice, and promotes critical-thinking as the foundation for providing quality care.
Clinically focused and evidence-based,Harwood-Nuss' Clinical Practice of Emergency Medicine, Seventh Edition, is a comprehensive, easy-to-use reference for practitioners and residents in today's Emergency Department (ED). Templated chapters rapidly guide you to up to date information on clinical presentation, differential diagnosis, evaluation, management, and disposition, including highlighted critical interventions and common pitfalls. This concise text covers the full range of conditions you're likely to see in the ED, with unmatched readability for quick study and reference
Conversational and easy to read, Avoiding Common Errors in Pediatric Emergency Medicine discusses 198 errors commonly made in the practice of pediatric emergency medicine and gives practical, easy-to-remember tips for avoiding these pitfalls. This unique manual offers brief, approachable, evidence-based chapters suitable for reading immediately before the start of a rotation, for quick reference on call, or daily for personal assessment and review. Covers nuanced topics specific to the care of children in the emergency setting, including treatment strategies, procedure competencies, distinct pathophysiology, and disease processes.
The number of natural and man-made disasters has risen dramatically over the last decade. Natural disasters, industrial accidents and terrorist attacks represent major incidents, often involving multiple casualties. In such cases, health professionals face multiple challenges because the type of medical care required differs from what is taught and provided in their everyday hospital duties. The aim of this book is to inform and prepare healthcare professionals for the challenges posed by major incidents, so that they can act effectively in medical teams sent on humanitarian missions or into conflict zones. It offers a holistic and horizontal approach covering all stages of the disaster management cycle.
Acute Psychiatric Emergencies is designed for all medical and healthcare professionals working with patients in mental health crisis. This manual is a key component of the Acute Psychiatric Emergencies (APEx) course, which uses a structured approach developed by leading psychiatry and emergency medicine specialists with years of practical experience. This valuable resource provides a practical approach for dealing with mental health emergencies, helping healthcare professionals from different specialties speak a common language and develop a shared understanding that expedites excellent care. The manual outlines the assessment and management of patients who have self-harmed, those that are apparently drunk, the patient behaving strangely, the patient with acute confusion, and those that are aggressive.
This extensively updated textbook comprehensively reviews the latest developments in evidence-based critical care. Topics are covered in a case study format with an emphasis on the principles of diagnosis and therapy. Each topic is covered using a variety of case studies and features a case vignette, clinical question and an additional discussion section to clarify areas of particular importance. Evidence-Based Critical Care, 2nd edition is a critical resource for critical care practitioners, fellows, residents; allied health professionals and medical students who wish to expand their knowledge within critical care. The case study-based approach taken in the textbook makes this an ideal resource for those preparing for board examinations.
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022! The second edition of Fleisher & Ludwig's 5-Minute Pediatric Emergency Medicine Consult helps anyone working in a busy emergency or urgent care setting diagnose, treat and manage over 500 diseases and common pediatric conditions. You'll instantly find clear answers--summarized succinctly--on clinical orientation, differential diagnosis, medications, management, discharge criteria and more. Practice guidelines are evidence-based, and the book is formatted for quick reference, double-checking or a 5-minute refresher. Organized alphabetically and filled with brief, templated bullet points for quick and easy reading.
Critical Care and Hospitalist Medicine Made Ridiculously Simple aims at current approaches to intensive care problems. However, since guidelines may change, please confirm with the latest literature and pharmacologic manufacturer recommendations for evaluation and treatment.
COVID-19 EDITION!
*The major update to this book is the addition of a brand new chapter on the SARS-COV-2 Virus and COVID-19 disease. This chapter delves into the nature of the virus and clinical management of COVID-19 in the ICU such as:
- SARS-COV-2 Virus genetic makeup
- SARS-COV-2 Virus structural components
- Infectivity within the body
- Transmission between individuals
- Timeline of infectivity
- Symptoms
- Risk factors
- Different laboratory testing methods
- Radiology findings in the infected
- Different PPE and their usefulness
- Names and method of actions of all vaccines approved
- Therapeutics for COVID-19 such as: antiviral therapies, &nbs...
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2021! Awarded First place in the 2020 AJN Book of the Year Awards in Medical-Surgical Nursing Category and awarded Second place in Advance Practice Nursing Category. Looking for an up-to-date, how-to, evidence-based wound care reference? The newly revised Wound Care Essentials, 5th Edition; the comprehensive seminal resource, offering the latest evidence, guidelines and information to assist the interprofessional skin and wound care team translate knowledge into practice. A crucial guide for all skin and wound care professionals, this essential resource provides authoritative science and practical instruction on wound care best practices.
A best-selling source of compact, authoritative guidance on the treatment of ocular disorders in a variety of settings, The Wills Eye Manual, 8th Edition, is the comprehensive, high-yield reference of choice for both trainees and seasoned practitioners. It provides highly illustrated information on more than 200 ophthalmic conditions along with proven clinical recommendations from initial diagnosis through extended treatment. The consistent, bulleted outline format makes it ideal for portability and quick reference. Provides current, superbly illustrated information on more than 200 ophthalmic conditions in a handy, portable manual, along with extensive multimedia content. Features easily accessible clinical recommendations for evaluation, diagnosis, management, and treatment.
Case Files: Emergency Medicine, 5th ed. 2023. by 
Current Therapy of Trauma and Surgical Critical Care, 3rd ed. 2024. by 
The Emergency Department Technician Handbook. 2024. by 
Emergency Medicine Secrets, 7th ed. 2022. by 
Emergency Ultrasound Made Easy, 3rd ed. 2022. by 
Fast Facts for the ER Nurse, 4th ed. 2022. by 
Minor Emergencies, 4th ed. 2022. by 
Pediatric Emergency Secrets, 4th ed. 2025. by 
Pediatric Imaging for the Emergency Provider. 2022. by 
PHTLS: Prehospital Trauma Life Support, 10th ed. 2024. by 
Rosen's Emergency Medicine: Concepts and Clinical Practice. 2023. by 
Textbook of Adult Emergency Medicine, 5th ed. 2020. by 
Textbook of Paediatric Emergency Medicine, 4th ed. 2024. by 
Trauma Surgery Essentials. 2024. by 
Fill out the appropriate form and save it.
Click on the envelope to email and attach your request form.
Eileen M. Anderson
Library Technician
eileen.m.anderson22.civ@health.mil
571-231-2540