A.T. Augusta Military Medical Center Library: Departments: Family Medicine

CURRENT Diagnosis & Treatment in Family Medicine, 5th Edition. 2020.

Provide continuous, comprehensive care of patients throughout their lifetimes with this evidence-based guide. An easy-to-use guide to the diagnosis, treatment, and management of the full range of clinical conditions seen in primary care. NEW content includes coverage of genetics and precision medicine use in family medicine, telehealth in family medicine, CTE and sports injuries, Zika, the opioid epidemic, Hepatitis C, expansion of the HIV section, veteran's health and PTSD, and more. The leading resource for USMLE Step 3 review, board certification and maintenance or recertification.

Primary Care Evaluation and Management of Obesity. 2022.

Written by and for primary care professionals, this unique title presents step-by-step, evidence-based information for the assessment and treatment of patients who present with overweight or obesity. Highly practical and easy to use, Primary Care: Obesity helps you develop and hone the specific knowledge, skills, and clinical practices necessary to provide effective care to this highly prevalent and at-risk patient population. This comprehensive guide is an essential resource for today’s internal medicine and family medicine physicians, pediatricians, nurse practitioners, physician assistants, and other healthcare professionals who practice outpatient primary care.

Pediatric Collections: Adolescent Health Care - Part 3: Transition of Care. 2023.

In Part 3 of this 3-part series, we focus on the importance of transitioning young adult patients to adult care to ensure their optimal health and well-being into adulthood. Adolescent and young adulthood is a period when the individual has many evolving priorities and responsibilities, including educational achievements, employment, independent financial status, housing, and relationships. Research has shown that making the transition to an adult care provider does not commonly occur for young adults; even less so for those with complex or chronic medical conditions. The transition is fraught with several barriers and challenges that are described in detail in this set of featured publications. The articles in this section bring to light the unique needs of these adolescents and how to better help them and their families navigate this time of transition.

Pediatric Collections: Adolescent Health - Part 2: Reproductive Health. 2023.

The teen pregnancy and birth rates have decreased in the US in the past 30 years due to factors such as the availability of more hormonal contraceptive options and delayed initiation of sexual intercourse. However, the US still has one of the highest teen pregnancy rates of industrialized countries. Moreover, disparities in teen pregnancy and birthrates still exist due mostly to social determinants of health. This all points to the increased need of pediatric providers to provide comprehensive reproductive health to all adolescents they care for. Now, more than ever, pediatric providers are counted on to provide evidence-based, comprehensive reproductive and sexual healthcare to the adolescents and young adults they care for. A pediatrician's goal is to ensure all children grow to be the healthy, successful, and productive adults they were meant to be. Guiding them through the challenge of adolescence and providing comprehensive reproductive health care can help make that goal a reality.

Pediatric Collections: Adolescent Health Care - Part 1: Promoting Wellness. 2023.

In this section, we are pleased to present an extensive collection of adolescent health articles that address the diverse needs of the adolescent and population as it relates to preventative health. Through a wide variety of research publications over the last 7 decades, the needs of those going through this dynamic phase of life have become more understood. Part 1 of the Adolescent Health Care collection presents the most salient of recent publications that aim to describe and address the current issues that affect the health and well-being of children in this important step of their development. Adolescents have a myriad of dynamic changes happening simultaneously, which undoubtedly affect their behaviors and health. It's a time noted for emerging autonomy and sense of self, decision making, and experimentation. Issues such as disordered eating, substance abuse, overuse of screens, unhealthy sleep patterns, dangerous driving habits, and facing prejudice and racism are all common during adolescence, and each is covered with a current article describing how to prevent, diagnose, or treat the effects of these behaviors.

Manual of Primary Care Dermatology. 2024.

This manual describes the issues of diagnosing and managing skin diseases relevant to primary care, where the vast majority of dermatology patients are initially investigated. In most circumstances, primary care physicians need to assess and diagnose skin conditions without the aid of any laboratory or other diagnostic tests. Given that dermatological training for primary care providers is limited, this can make it challenging to diagnose skin diseases accurately, more so for those in the early stages of their career. The Manual of Primary Care Dermatology is written by a dermatologically trained practicing primary care physician to address the issues in managing skin diseases in primary care medicine. It provides readers with practical guidance on the differential diagnosis of skin diseases. The anatomical approach presented makes it easy for the reader to manage their patients' skin condition. With chapters dedicated to lesions of the scalp, face or upper extremity, it represents a quick reference book even for a busy practitioner. It is therefore essential reading for all primary care physicians and dermatologists looking for a compact reference to the differential diagnosis of all skin diseases.

Smith's Recognizable Patterns of Human Malformation, 8th ed. 2022.

Long known as the go-to resource for superbly illustrated, up-to-date coverage in this complex field, Smith's Recognizable Patterns of Human Malformation, 8th Edition, provides a wealth of information on malformation syndromes of environmental and genetic etiology, recognizable disorders of unknown cause, clinical approaches to specific diagnoses, and normal standards of measurement for the entire spectrum of disorders. This award-winning reference is indispensable for clinicians in pediatrics, neonatology, family medicine, and genetics, as well as nurse practitioners and physician assistants—anyone who needs a complete, authoritative, and easy-to-read guide to help accurately diagnose human disorders, establish prognoses, and provide appropriate management and genetic counseling.

Primary Care: Interprofessional Collaborative Practice, 2025

This comprehensive, evidenced-based primary care resource provides the concise, yet thorough information you need in today's fast-paced healthcare environment. It comvers every major adult disorder seen in the outpatient office setting and features a uniquely interprofessional collaborative approach with referral and "Red Flag" highlights and more.

The Harriet Lane Handbook: The Johns Hopkins Hospital, 23rd ed. 2024.

Every three years, The Harriet Lane Handbook is carefully updated by residents, edited by chief residents, and reviewed by expert faculty at The Johns Hopkins Hospital. Easy to use, concise, and complete, this essential manual keeps you current with new guidelines, practice parameters, pharmacology, and more. The 23rd Edition of this portable reference continues to be the most widely used and most recognized pediatric reference worldwide―an indispensable resource for pediatric residents, students, nurses, and all healthcare professionals who treat young patients.

Pocket Primary Care, 2023

Part of the highly popular and respected Pocket Notebook series,Pocket Primary Care, 3rd Edition, puts answers to common diagnostic questions in the outpatient setting at your fingertips in seconds. Dr. Curtis R. Chong and his team of expert contributors provide current evidence-based practices, accepted best practices, and real-world guidance on all major subspecialties, including appropriate workups and when to refer. This practical, high-yield reference mirrors the thought process of primary care clinicians in day-to-day practice, all in an easy-to-use, loose-leaf format that's ideal for physicians, students, residents, nurses, and PAs--anyone who sees patients in today's busy ambulatory settings. Contains fully updated information throughout, including the latest clinical guidelines and new therapeutic recommendations. Features bulleted lists, tables, diagrams, and algorithms that provide focused information on everything you need to know in order to make an accurate diagnosis and develop a treatment plan. Includes a new chapter on COVID-19. Covers all diseases and conditions commonly seen in the clinic or ambulatory setting, including topics such as routine screenings, health literacy, disease screening, psychiatry, women's health, men's health, and geriatrics. Provides references to landmark papers that help residents and students confidently answer questions during rounds.

CURRENT Practice Guidelines in Primary Care, 2023

The authoritative guidelines you need to diagnose and treat the most common outpatient conditions--updated with the latest research available for each guideline Concise yet comprehensive, CURRENT Practice Guidelines in Primary Care 2023 provides quick access to screening, prevention, and treatment guidelines for the most common outpatient conditions. Content is drawn from a wide array of recommendations from government agencies, expert panels, medical specialty organizations, and other professional and scientific organizations. The author selected each topic based on its relevance to the office practice of ambulatory medicine, and he organized the book in a way that makes finding critical information a quick and easy process. With the most current, evidence-based content available, this go-to guide converts the tremendous amount of information on the web into a practical, relevant collection of usable data for busy clinicians. Features NEW: Highlights instances where major guidelines conflict. Formatted for easy fact-finding in both print and digital platforms. Organized by screening, prevention, and treatment. Topics are carefully selected for relevance to the office practice of ambulatory medicine. Text is enhanced by a convenient outline format. Screening and prevention of conditions have been combined to enhance clinician use.

Control of Communicable Diseases Manual, 2022

Control of Communicable Diseases Manual, 21st Edition, is the trusted source for public health professionals on identifying and controlling infectious diseases for over 100 years. The updated edition includes new chapters on SARS-CoV-2, Zika, and many more. This landmark publication is essential to all those in and around public health.

Primary Care Medicine, 2021

Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022! Long regarded as "the book" in the field for in-depth learning as well as decision support at the point of care, Primary Care Medicine, 8th Edition, continues its tradition as a comprehensive, evidence-based, action-oriented information resource. Presented in companion electronic format updated quarterly, its problem-based orientation spans the full spectrum of problems encountered in adult primary care practice. Chapters address screening, diagnosis, prevention and management, including indications for referral and approaches to patient education and shared decision making. Clear, practical, bulleted recommendations and an extensive annotated bibliography of best references follow detailed discussions of pathophysiology, clinical presentation, differential diagnosis, and strategies for workup and treatment. Now with its 40th-anniversary edition, this exceptional text is a must-have resource for physicians, nurse practitioners, physician assistants, students, and residents- offering the most complete and up-to-date resource available for primary care education and practice. Included interactive eBook incorporates quarterly updates featuring critically reviewed important new evidence as well as a study guide for students and tables for shared decision making.

Men's Health 4e, 2021

Since its first edition, Men's Health has established itself as the essential reference for practitioners across the spectrum of medicine - including those working in urology, andrology, cardiology, endocrinology, family practice and mental health. For this fully updated fourth edition the editors have again assembled an international team of expert authors to write on an encyclopedic range of topics, making this an invaluable resource for any health professional interested in maintaining and improving the health of their male patients. Comprehensive coverage of every aspect of men's health and the gender gap. Includes the latest research on cardiovascular risks. Assesses the specific issues concerning men and cancer. Examines the often overlooked aspects of mental health as it affects men. Incorporates new developments in metabolic medicine and men.

Ham's Primary Care Geriatrics, 2022

Written with first-line primary care providers in mind, Ham's Primary Care Geriatrics: A Case-Based Approach, 7th Edition, is a comprehensive, easy-to-read source of practical clinical guidance for this rapidly growing population. Using a unique, case-based approach, it covers the patient presentations you're most likely to encounter, offering key clinical information, expert advice, and evidence-based medical guidelines throughout. This highly regarded text uses a consistent format and an enjoyable writing style to keep you informed, engaged, and up to date in this increasingly important field. Uses a case study format that is ideal for learning, retention, and rapid recall. All case studies are thoroughly up to date with current references

Graber and Wilbur's Family Medicine Examination and Board Review, Fifth Edition, 2020

Master every facet of family medicine with this comprehensive, engaging, meticulously updated guide and enjoy doing it! This is the go-to resource for students and practitioners. Whether you're studying for the boards or USMLE or looking to boost your professional knowledge, Family Medicine Examination & Board Review delivers everything you need to move to the next level of your career. Packed with 350+ progressive cases and thousands of questions with right and wrong answers explained in detail, this matchless guide provides both the information and practice required for complete mastery of the subject. This new edition gets you fully up to date with critical information on a host of topics--from health maintenance, metacognition, and diagnoses/treatments to new guidelines on cholesterol, blood pressure, heart failure, and anticoagulation--and includes a succinct guide to the recommended health maintenances for children and adults, perfect for a quick review.

Family Practice Guidelines, Fifth Edition, 2021.

This bible of family practice for primary care clinicians and students provides current national practice guidelines for professional standards of care across the life span. Concise and clearly organized, this resource features detailed, step-by-step instructions for physical examinations and diagnostic testing in the outpatient setting, information on health promotion, care guidelines, dietary information, information on culturally responsive care, patient resources, and abundant patient-education handouts. Now in color with abundant images and illustrations, this fifth edition features thoroughly updated guidelines and recommendations to reflect latest in practice, as well as many new guidelines. Each of the diagnoses includes definition, incidence, pathogenesis, predisposing factors, common complaints, signs/symptoms, subjective data, physical exam and diagnostic tests, differential diagnosis, and a care plan.

CURRENT Diagnosis & Treatment in Family Medicine, 5th Edition. 2020.

Provide continuous, comprehensive care of patients throughout their lifetimes with this evidence-based guide. An easy-to-use guide to the diagnosis, treatment, and management of the full range of clinical conditions seen in primary care. NEW content includes coverage of genetics and precision medicine use in family medicine, telehealth in family medicine, CTE and sports injuries, Zika, the opioid epidemic, Hepatitis C, expansion of the HIV section, veteran's health and PTSD, and more. The leading resource for USMLE Step 3 review, board certification and maintenance or recertification.

Primary Care Evaluation and Management of Obesity. 2022.

Written by and for primary care professionals, this unique title presents step-by-step, evidence-based information for the assessment and treatment of patients who present with overweight or obesity. Highly practical and easy to use, Primary Care: Obesity helps you develop and hone the specific knowledge, skills, and clinical practices necessary to provide effective care to this highly prevalent and at-risk patient population. This comprehensive guide is an essential resource for today’s internal medicine and family medicine physicians, pediatricians, nurse practitioners, physician assistants, and other healthcare professionals who practice outpatient primary care.

Pediatric Collections: Adolescent Health Care - Part 3: Transition of Care. 2023.

In Part 3 of this 3-part series, we focus on the importance of transitioning young adult patients to adult care to ensure their optimal health and well-being into adulthood. Adolescent and young adulthood is a period when the individual has many evolving priorities and responsibilities, including educational achievements, employment, independent financial status, housing, and relationships. Research has shown that making the transition to an adult care provider does not commonly occur for young adults; even less so for those with complex or chronic medical conditions. The transition is fraught with several barriers and challenges that are described in detail in this set of featured publications. The articles in this section bring to light the unique needs of these adolescents and how to better help them and their families navigate this time of transition.

Pediatric Collections: Adolescent Health - Part 2: Reproductive Health. 2023.

The teen pregnancy and birth rates have decreased in the US in the past 30 years due to factors such as the availability of more hormonal contraceptive options and delayed initiation of sexual intercourse. However, the US still has one of the highest teen pregnancy rates of industrialized countries. Moreover, disparities in teen pregnancy and birthrates still exist due mostly to social determinants of health. This all points to the increased need of pediatric providers to provide comprehensive reproductive health to all adolescents they care for. Now, more than ever, pediatric providers are counted on to provide evidence-based, comprehensive reproductive and sexual healthcare to the adolescents and young adults they care for. A pediatrician's goal is to ensure all children grow to be the healthy, successful, and productive adults they were meant to be. Guiding them through the challenge of adolescence and providing comprehensive reproductive health care can help make that goal a reality.

Pediatric Collections: Adolescent Health Care - Part 1: Promoting Wellness. 2023.

In this section, we are pleased to present an extensive collection of adolescent health articles that address the diverse needs of the adolescent and population as it relates to preventative health. Through a wide variety of research publications over the last 7 decades, the needs of those going through this dynamic phase of life have become more understood. Part 1 of the Adolescent Health Care collection presents the most salient of recent publications that aim to describe and address the current issues that affect the health and well-being of children in this important step of their development. Adolescents have a myriad of dynamic changes happening simultaneously, which undoubtedly affect their behaviors and health. It's a time noted for emerging autonomy and sense of self, decision making, and experimentation. Issues such as disordered eating, substance abuse, overuse of screens, unhealthy sleep patterns, dangerous driving habits, and facing prejudice and racism are all common during adolescence, and each is covered with a current article describing how to prevent, diagnose, or treat the effects of these behaviors.

Manual of Primary Care Dermatology. 2024.

This manual describes the issues of diagnosing and managing skin diseases relevant to primary care, where the vast majority of dermatology patients are initially investigated. In most circumstances, primary care physicians need to assess and diagnose skin conditions without the aid of any laboratory or other diagnostic tests. Given that dermatological training for primary care providers is limited, this can make it challenging to diagnose skin diseases accurately, more so for those in the early stages of their career. The Manual of Primary Care Dermatology is written by a dermatologically trained practicing primary care physician to address the issues in managing skin diseases in primary care medicine. It provides readers with practical guidance on the differential diagnosis of skin diseases. The anatomical approach presented makes it easy for the reader to manage their patients' skin condition. With chapters dedicated to lesions of the scalp, face or upper extremity, it represents a quick reference book even for a busy practitioner. It is therefore essential reading for all primary care physicians and dermatologists looking for a compact reference to the differential diagnosis of all skin diseases.

Smith's Recognizable Patterns of Human Malformation, 8th ed. 2022.

Long known as the go-to resource for superbly illustrated, up-to-date coverage in this complex field, Smith's Recognizable Patterns of Human Malformation, 8th Edition, provides a wealth of information on malformation syndromes of environmental and genetic etiology, recognizable disorders of unknown cause, clinical approaches to specific diagnoses, and normal standards of measurement for the entire spectrum of disorders. This award-winning reference is indispensable for clinicians in pediatrics, neonatology, family medicine, and genetics, as well as nurse practitioners and physician assistants—anyone who needs a complete, authoritative, and easy-to-read guide to help accurately diagnose human disorders, establish prognoses, and provide appropriate management and genetic counseling.

Primary Care: Interprofessional Collaborative Practice, 2025

This comprehensive, evidenced-based primary care resource provides the concise, yet thorough information you need in today's fast-paced healthcare environment. It comvers every major adult disorder seen in the outpatient office setting and features a uniquely interprofessional collaborative approach with referral and "Red Flag" highlights and more.

The Harriet Lane Handbook: The Johns Hopkins Hospital, 23rd ed. 2024.

Every three years, The Harriet Lane Handbook is carefully updated by residents, edited by chief residents, and reviewed by expert faculty at The Johns Hopkins Hospital. Easy to use, concise, and complete, this essential manual keeps you current with new guidelines, practice parameters, pharmacology, and more. The 23rd Edition of this portable reference continues to be the most widely used and most recognized pediatric reference worldwide―an indispensable resource for pediatric residents, students, nurses, and all healthcare professionals who treat young patients.

Pocket Primary Care, 2023

Part of the highly popular and respected Pocket Notebook series,Pocket Primary Care, 3rd Edition, puts answers to common diagnostic questions in the outpatient setting at your fingertips in seconds. Dr. Curtis R. Chong and his team of expert contributors provide current evidence-based practices, accepted best practices, and real-world guidance on all major subspecialties, including appropriate workups and when to refer. This practical, high-yield reference mirrors the thought process of primary care clinicians in day-to-day practice, all in an easy-to-use, loose-leaf format that's ideal for physicians, students, residents, nurses, and PAs--anyone who sees patients in today's busy ambulatory settings. Contains fully updated information throughout, including the latest clinical guidelines and new therapeutic recommendations. Features bulleted lists, tables, diagrams, and algorithms that provide focused information on everything you need to know in order to make an accurate diagnosis and develop a treatment plan. Includes a new chapter on COVID-19. Covers all diseases and conditions commonly seen in the clinic or ambulatory setting, including topics such as routine screenings, health literacy, disease screening, psychiatry, women's health, men's health, and geriatrics. Provides references to landmark papers that help residents and students confidently answer questions during rounds.

CURRENT Practice Guidelines in Primary Care, 2023

The authoritative guidelines you need to diagnose and treat the most common outpatient conditions--updated with the latest research available for each guideline Concise yet comprehensive, CURRENT Practice Guidelines in Primary Care 2023 provides quick access to screening, prevention, and treatment guidelines for the most common outpatient conditions. Content is drawn from a wide array of recommendations from government agencies, expert panels, medical specialty organizations, and other professional and scientific organizations. The author selected each topic based on its relevance to the office practice of ambulatory medicine, and he organized the book in a way that makes finding critical information a quick and easy process. With the most current, evidence-based content available, this go-to guide converts the tremendous amount of information on the web into a practical, relevant collection of usable data for busy clinicians. Features NEW: Highlights instances where major guidelines conflict. Formatted for easy fact-finding in both print and digital platforms. Organized by screening, prevention, and treatment. Topics are carefully selected for relevance to the office practice of ambulatory medicine. Text is enhanced by a convenient outline format. Screening and prevention of conditions have been combined to enhance clinician use.

Control of Communicable Diseases Manual, 2022

Control of Communicable Diseases Manual, 21st Edition, is the trusted source for public health professionals on identifying and controlling infectious diseases for over 100 years. The updated edition includes new chapters on SARS-CoV-2, Zika, and many more. This landmark publication is essential to all those in and around public health.

Primary Care Medicine, 2021

Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022! Long regarded as "the book" in the field for in-depth learning as well as decision support at the point of care, Primary Care Medicine, 8th Edition, continues its tradition as a comprehensive, evidence-based, action-oriented information resource. Presented in companion electronic format updated quarterly, its problem-based orientation spans the full spectrum of problems encountered in adult primary care practice. Chapters address screening, diagnosis, prevention and management, including indications for referral and approaches to patient education and shared decision making. Clear, practical, bulleted recommendations and an extensive annotated bibliography of best references follow detailed discussions of pathophysiology, clinical presentation, differential diagnosis, and strategies for workup and treatment. Now with its 40th-anniversary edition, this exceptional text is a must-have resource for physicians, nurse practitioners, physician assistants, students, and residents- offering the most complete and up-to-date resource available for primary care education and practice. Included interactive eBook incorporates quarterly updates featuring critically reviewed important new evidence as well as a study guide for students and tables for shared decision making.

Men's Health 4e, 2021

Since its first edition, Men's Health has established itself as the essential reference for practitioners across the spectrum of medicine - including those working in urology, andrology, cardiology, endocrinology, family practice and mental health. For this fully updated fourth edition the editors have again assembled an international team of expert authors to write on an encyclopedic range of topics, making this an invaluable resource for any health professional interested in maintaining and improving the health of their male patients. Comprehensive coverage of every aspect of men's health and the gender gap. Includes the latest research on cardiovascular risks. Assesses the specific issues concerning men and cancer. Examines the often overlooked aspects of mental health as it affects men. Incorporates new developments in metabolic medicine and men.

Ham's Primary Care Geriatrics, 2022

Written with first-line primary care providers in mind, Ham's Primary Care Geriatrics: A Case-Based Approach, 7th Edition, is a comprehensive, easy-to-read source of practical clinical guidance for this rapidly growing population. Using a unique, case-based approach, it covers the patient presentations you're most likely to encounter, offering key clinical information, expert advice, and evidence-based medical guidelines throughout. This highly regarded text uses a consistent format and an enjoyable writing style to keep you informed, engaged, and up to date in this increasingly important field. Uses a case study format that is ideal for learning, retention, and rapid recall. All case studies are thoroughly up to date with current references

Graber and Wilbur's Family Medicine Examination and Board Review, Fifth Edition, 2020

Master every facet of family medicine with this comprehensive, engaging, meticulously updated guide and enjoy doing it! This is the go-to resource for students and practitioners. Whether you're studying for the boards or USMLE or looking to boost your professional knowledge, Family Medicine Examination & Board Review delivers everything you need to move to the next level of your career. Packed with 350+ progressive cases and thousands of questions with right and wrong answers explained in detail, this matchless guide provides both the information and practice required for complete mastery of the subject. This new edition gets you fully up to date with critical information on a host of topics--from health maintenance, metacognition, and diagnoses/treatments to new guidelines on cholesterol, blood pressure, heart failure, and anticoagulation--and includes a succinct guide to the recommended health maintenances for children and adults, perfect for a quick review.

Family Practice Guidelines, Fifth Edition, 2021.

This bible of family practice for primary care clinicians and students provides current national practice guidelines for professional standards of care across the life span. Concise and clearly organized, this resource features detailed, step-by-step instructions for physical examinations and diagnostic testing in the outpatient setting, information on health promotion, care guidelines, dietary information, information on culturally responsive care, patient resources, and abundant patient-education handouts. Now in color with abundant images and illustrations, this fifth edition features thoroughly updated guidelines and recommendations to reflect latest in practice, as well as many new guidelines. Each of the diagnoses includes definition, incidence, pathogenesis, predisposing factors, common complaints, signs/symptoms, subjective data, physical exam and diagnostic tests, differential diagnosis, and a care plan.

CURRENT Diagnosis & Treatment in Family Medicine, 5th Edition. 2020.

Provide continuous, comprehensive care of patients throughout their lifetimes with this evidence-based guide. An easy-to-use guide to the diagnosis, treatment, and management of the full range of clinical conditions seen in primary care. NEW content includes coverage of genetics and precision medicine use in family medicine, telehealth in family medicine, CTE and sports injuries, Zika, the opioid epidemic, Hepatitis C, expansion of the HIV section, veteran's health and PTSD, and more. The leading resource for USMLE Step 3 review, board certification and maintenance or recertification.