Departments: Cardiology

Braunwald's Heart Disease: A Textbook of Cardiovascular Medicine, 11th ed. 2019.

Trusted by generations of cardiologists for the latest, most reliable guidance in the field, Braunwald's Heart Disease, 11th Edition, remains your #1 source of information on rapidly changing clinical science, clinical and translational research, and evidence-based medicine. This award-winning text has been completely updated, providing a superior multimedia reference for every aspect of this fast-changing field, including new material about almost every topic in cardiology. More than a dozen new chapters cover Chronic Lung Disorders and Cardiovascular Disease; Transcatheter Treatment of Congenital Heart Disease; Approach to the Patient with Valvular Heart Disease; Obesity and Cardiometabolic Disease; Environmental Exposures and CVD; Approach to the Patient with Cardiac Arrhythmias; Cardio-oncology, Precision Medicine, and more. New information on clinical cardiovascular genetics; MR PET; MR device compatibility; fibrosis; fusion imaging; OCT; IVUS; left atrial appendage exclusion approaches and other topics.

Hypertension, 3rd ed. 2023.

The management of hypertension varies considerably from clinician to clinician. This pocketbook is a concise and evidence-based summary of current understanding and practice, including the most up-to-date guidance from national and international bodies and their recommendations for hypertension care. Written by an international team of experts, it covers all the key aspects of hypertension from epidemiology and aetiology to investigations, management, and complications. It also covers the management of hypertension in special patient groups such as in pregnancy and the elderly. Emphasis is laid throughout the book on lowering cardiovascular risk as a part of managing hypertension. An essential tool for everyday use in managing hypertension, this book aids clinical decision-making by collating all the relevant information and guidance in one easily accessible place. This new edition has been fully updated to include expanded content on hypertension mediated organ damage and two new chapters covering the effects of hypertension on the brain and on the eyes.

Management of Cardiac Arrhythmias, 3rd ed. 2020.

A significantly expanded third edition, this book provides a comprehensive and concise overview of cardiac arrhythmias and their ECG/telemetry manifestations, including the principles of cardiac electrophysiology, current concepts of pharmacology, clinical features, diagnoses, and state-of-the-art treatments. Additionally, the book emphasizes decision-making strategies in approaching each individual patient and the application of technical innovations in specific clinical situations. 

ECG Interpretation Made Incredibly Easy, 8th ed. 2025.

Recognize and treat a wide variety of arrhythmias with this vital text — an ideal study aid for students and a friendly on-the-unit support for practicing nurses. Offering expert direction, this edition is freshly updated, fully illustrated, and packed with learning aids that support your understanding and retention in obtaining and interpreting rhythm strips.

• NEW and updated content in a quick-read, bulleted format that makes it easy to spot important points at a glance
• Expert guidance on obtaining and interpreting 12-lead ECGs and ACLS algorithms
• ECG basics – the fundamentals of cardiac anatomy and physiology, and of obtaining and interpreting a rhythm strip
• Expert direction on how to recognize arrhythmias – sinus node, atrial, junctional arrhythmias, ventricular arrhythmias, and atrioventricular blocks
• Seasoned nursing insight on treating arrhythmias – pharmacologic and nonpharmacologic treatments
• Dozens of colorful diagrams and illustrations that outline core terms and concepts, with easy-to-retain definitions of key terms
• Sidebars that highlight key facts about ECG interpretation

Fetal Heart Monitoring Principles and Practices, 6th ed. 2021.

This new edition continues to use the 2008 National Institute of Child Health and Development definitions for terms to describe fetal heart characteristics and rate and uterine activity findings. It contains the core principles of the AWHONN FHM Program and includes emphasis on a physiologic framework for decision making. an evidence-based approach to the care of laboring women and commitment to supporting the full range of FHR assessment technology including auscultation. Inclusive pronouns are used throughout the book: they, them, and theirs and gender-neutral terms: people, persons, individual(s), and parents; in addition to she, her, hers, and woman, women, and mother. Topics include:
-Physiologic basis for fetal and uterine monitoring
-Interpretation of fetal heart and uterine patterns
-Physiologic interventions for fetal tracing characteristics and patterns including a discussion of oxygen as an intrauterine resuscitation intervention
-Assessment of fetal oxygenation and acid-base status
-Antenatal testing methods
-Clinical communication and documentation

Basic Arrhythmias with 12-lead EKGs, 9th ed. 2025.

Basic Arrhythmias has equipped hundreds of thousands of students with the solid foundation required for ongoing EKG studies. You'll come away with sound conceptual knowledge of the common, uncomplicated rhythms central to electrocardiography. With 680+ EKG rhythm strips throughout, you'll also get the authentic practice needed to successfully interpret basic arrhythmias.Chapters cover all the basics of arrhythmia interpretation, including basic electrophysiology, waves and measurements and rhythm analysis, along with the five major groups of arrhythmias. Units are carefully organized and of a consistent length, enabling self-paced, independent study of basic principles, concepts and techniques.The 9th Edition is full of expanded content, updated EKG strips and new and updated illustrations. The revisions ensure you'll have the most complete, up-to-date understanding of basic EKG practices, propelling you into more advanced studies.

Fuster and Hurst's the Heart, 15th Edition, 2022

The landmark text that belongs in the hands of every cardiologist--fully updated and reorganized to make it more patient-centric than ever. World-famous for its authority, currency, and clinical relevance, Fuster and Hurst's The Heart is cardiology's longest continuously published reference book. Written to meet the ever-changing needs of cardiologists, fellows, and interns, this trusted classic offers a solid foundation in cardiovascular medicine and complete coverage of all major cardiovascular topics. For this brand-new edition, cardiology legend Dr. Valentin Fuster and his editorial team have significantly enhanced this definitive guide to make it even more focused on the practicalities of patient care.

Manual of Perioperative Care in Adult Cardiac Surgery, 2021

Now in its sixth edition, Robert M. Bojar's Manual of Perioperative Care in Adult Cardiac Surgery remains the go-to practical guide for all of those involved in the care of the cardiac surgery patient. Written in outline format, it provides a comprehensive, detailed, and clearly explained review of cardiac surgical disease and perioperative management that is of value to practicing cardiac surgeons as well as to cardiologists, residents, fellows, advanced practice providers, critical care and floor nurses, perfusionists, and medical students. Extensively rewritten with updated references to incorporate the latest concepts, guidelines, protocols, and medications used in cardiac surgical practice, this classic text retains the pragmatic features that have made it the gold standard reference that clinicians have used worldwide for the past 30 years. Highlights include: Full coverage of cardiac surgical diseases, including pathophysiology, indications for surgery per guidelines, and figures of operative procedures and diagnostic techniques, with a panoply of examples Chronologic evaluation of patients from preoperative assessment to intraoperative considerations to postoperative care for each procedure.

The Only EKG Book You'll Ever Need, 2023

Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022and 2023! For more than 30 years, health care providers have turned to The Only EKG Book You'll Ever Need for Dr. Malcolm S. Thaler's clear and concise guidance on EKG use in everyday practice. Ideal for readers at all levels of experience, the tenth edition of this straightforward, highly visual resource presents must-know information on using an EKG to diagnose cardiac and non-cardiac conditions, with numerous EKG strips, clear illustrations, clinical examples, and case studies throughout. From cover to cover, Dr. Thaler's commitment to "keeping simple things simple and making complicated things easy to understand" helps you learn and understand how to best use an EKG in actual clinical settings. Provides more than 200 EKG strips, including many new to this edition Includes updated clinical scenarios and case studies, step-by-step instructions, newly clarified concepts, and high-quality illustrations throughout Uses a lighthearted, lively writing style designed to be compelling and minimize confusion of principles discussed Outlines processes for identifying and interpreting arrhythmias, myocardial infarctions, hypertrophy, atrial fibrillation, and other disorders Advises on the dangers of over-reliance on computer interpretations and includes many other practical considerations that other books leave out   Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s),such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook,powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.

Braunwald's Heart Disease: A Textbook of Cardiovascular Medicine, 11th ed. 2019.

Trusted by generations of cardiologists for the latest, most reliable guidance in the field, Braunwald's Heart Disease, 11th Edition, remains your #1 source of information on rapidly changing clinical science, clinical and translational research, and evidence-based medicine. This award-winning text has been completely updated, providing a superior multimedia reference for every aspect of this fast-changing field, including new material about almost every topic in cardiology. More than a dozen new chapters cover Chronic Lung Disorders and Cardiovascular Disease; Transcatheter Treatment of Congenital Heart Disease; Approach to the Patient with Valvular Heart Disease; Obesity and Cardiometabolic Disease; Environmental Exposures and CVD; Approach to the Patient with Cardiac Arrhythmias; Cardio-oncology, Precision Medicine, and more. New information on clinical cardiovascular genetics; MR PET; MR device compatibility; fibrosis; fusion imaging; OCT; IVUS; left atrial appendage exclusion approaches and other topics.