Master the principles and skills of respiratory care for neonates, infants, and children! Neonatal and Pediatric Respiratory Care, 6th Edition provides a solid foundation in the assessment and treatment of respiratory disorders in children. Clear, full-color coverage simplifies the concepts of respiratory care while emphasizing clinical application. Reflecting the changing face of this profession, this edition unpacks care strategies with coverage of the newest treatment algorithms, interventions, mechanical ventilation technologies, and more. From an expert team of contributors led by Brian K. Walsh, an experienced respiratory therapist and researcher, this text is an excellent study tool for the NBRC's Neonatal/Pediatric Specialty examination. Authoritative, evidence-based content covers all of the major topics of respiratory care for neonates, infants, and children, including both theory and application, with an emphasis on an entry-level BS degree.
Master the patient assessment skills you need to provide effective respiratory care! Wilkins' Clinical Assessment in Respiratory Care, 9th Edition prepares you to assist physicians in the decision-making process regarding treatment, evaluation of the treatment's effectiveness, and determining if changes in the treatment need to be made. Chapters are updated to reflect the latest standards of practice and the newest advances in technology. From lead author Dr. Albert Heuer, a well-known educator and clinician, this market-leading text also aligns content with National Board for Respiratory Care exam matrices to help you prepare for success on the NBRC's CRT and RRT credentialing exams.
Divided into thirteen chapters, this book provides a wealth of research-oriented findings and practical guidance, ranging from the definition, epidemiology and pathophysiology, to the diagnosis and management of the disease. Although acute respiratory distress syndrome (ARDS) is defined by the acute onset of noncardiogenic pulmonary edema, hypoxemia and the need for mechanical ventilation, it is a heterogeneous disease entity, which makes it difficult to develop specific therapies. Treatment tends to focus on lung-protective ventilation, and no specific pharmacotherapies have been identified. All chapters were written by respected experts in the field, and summarize the latest trends, share recent research findings, and outline future prospects. Specific chapters are devoted to novel, promising diagnostic approaches, such as microRNA, which may improve our ability to identify early ARDS or at-risk patients. In addition, a dedicated chapter explores cell-based therapies and regenerative medicine, which offer potential therapeutic options. Acute Respiratory Distress Syndrome - Advances in Diagnostic Tools and Disease Management offers a valuable reference guide not only for young physicians and trainees, but also for experienced or teaching physicians, medical educators, and basic researchers. Readers will find the latest information on ARDS and come to understand the current challenges, encouraging them to further advance the diagnosis, treatment and clinical research on this disease.
Gain a complete understanding of the aspects of pulmonary physiology essential to clinical medicine For more than 35 years, this trusted review has provided students, residents, and fellows with a solid background in the aspects of pulmonary physiology that are essential for an understanding of clinical medicine. Pulmonary Physiology clearly describes how and why the human respiratory system works in a style that is easy to absorb and integrate with your existing knowledge of other body systems. Features: Thoroughly updated with new figures, tables, and end-of-chapter references and clinical correlations Each chapter includes clearly stated learning objectives, summaries of key concepts, illustrations of essential concepts, clinical correlations, problems, and pulmonary function test data to interpret, and suggested readings Enables you to understand the basic concepts of pulmonary physiology well enough to apply them with confidence in future practice Provides detailed explanations of physiologic mechanisms and demonstrates how they apply to pathologic states If you're in need of a concise, time-tested, basic review of pulmonary physiology--one that encourages comprehension rather than memorization, your search ends here.
Respiratory Care: Principles and Practice, Fourth Edition has been thoroughly reviewed and updated with the latest content to reflect current trends and topics important to contemporary respiratory care practice. With foundations in evidence-based research, the fourth edition covers patient assessment, respiratory therapeutics, respiratory diseases, applied sciences, and the professional aspects of respiratory care. Brand new chapters have been added to cover topics such as lung transplantation and sepsis, and the inclusion of new contributors has infused new perspectives and more modern coverage of important topics.
An invaluable role of the Respiratory Therapist is to administer and educate patients on aerosolized and systemic medications used in the treatment of respiratory diseases and other therapies affecting the cardiopulmonary system. Principles of Pharmacology for Respiratory Care, Third Edition is an ideal resource for Respiratory Therapists to understand the role of cardiopulmonary-targeted medication therapies and the mechanism of action drugs used in the treatment of the conditions they are treating. Mode of action, clinical indications, dosages, hazards, and side effects of multiple classifications of drugs are extensively addressed. As such, this text also serves a comprehensive reference on drug therapies used in the treatment of respiratory diseases as well as other medical conditions.
Learn the principles and skills you'll need as a respiratory therapist! Egan's Fundamentals of Respiratory Care, 12th Edition provides a solid foundation in respiratory care and covers the latest advances in this ever-changing field. Known as "the bible for respiratory care," this text makes it easy to understand the role of the respiratory therapist, the scientific basis for treatment, and clinical applications. Comprehensive chapters correlate to the 2020 NBRC Exam matrices, preparing you for clinical and exam success. Written by noted educators Robert Kacmarek, James Stoller, and Albert Heuer, this edition includes new chapters on heart failure as well as ethics and end-of-life care, plus the latest AARC practice guidelines.
Comprehensive Respiratory Therapy Exam Preparation Guide, Fourth Edition is the ultimate study guide for respiratory therapy students preparing to take the NBRC TMC and CSE exams. Thousands of people take the NBRC TMC and CSE each year, but only about half of those test-takers are awarded the credentials needed to become a Certified or Registered Respiratory Therapist. Newly updated to reflect the changes to the 2020 NBRC, the Guide and its accompanying web resources comprise all the content, strategies, and tools you'll need to succeed.
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022 and 2023! Over the past 30 years high-resolution CT (HRCT) has matured to become an integral part of the multidisciplinary evaluation in diffuse lung disease. In this regard Webb, Muller and Naidich's ;High-Resolution CT of the Lung, 6th Edition, is a 'gold standard' reference that aims to keep radiologists and pulmonologists alike at the cutting edge of the ever-evolving field of thoracic imaging. The new US-European author team continues the tradition of excellence which readers have come to expect while the underlying layout and ethos -- established by the 'founding' author team -- remain. The new edition aims to brings readers up to date not only with recent advances but also with the important conceptual changes in thinking in various fields of thoracic imaging.
Prepare for a career as a leading respiratory therapist with the solid foundation in anatomy and physiology found in Des Jardins' best-selling CARDIOPULMONARY ANATOMY & PHYSIOLOGY: ESSENTIALS OF RESPIRATORY CARE, 7E. This extremely reader-friendly presentation delivers the most complete, accurate information about the structure and function of the respiratory system. Clear, concise coverage presents even complicated concepts in an understandable format using full-color design and proven learning features that guide readers in applying what they've learned to professional careers.
A realistic look at treating respiratory diseases! Clinical Manifestations and Assessment of Respiratory Disease, 8th Edition gives you a fundamental knowledge and understanding that is required to successfully assess and treat patients with respiratory diseases.
The Respiratory System provides highly accessible coverage of the core basic science principles in the context of clinical case histories, giving the reader a fully integrated understanding of the system and its major diseases. Introduction Structure and function of the respiratory system Elastic properties of the respiratory system Airflow and resistance in the respiratory system Pulmonary Ventilation Diffusion of Gases between air and blood The Pulmonary Circulation Carriage of gases by the blood and acid/base balance Nervous control of breathing Chemical control of breathing Lung function tests. The Systems of the Body series has established itself as a highly valuable resource for medical and other health science students following today's systems-based courses. Now thoroughly revised and updated in this third edition, each volume presents the core knowledge of basic science and clinical conditions that medical students need, providing a concise, fully integrated view of each major body system that can be hard to find in more traditionally arranged textbooks or other resources.
Nobody wants to have a chronic long-term illness. Unfortunately, most of us will experience at least one of these conditions during our lives. The goal of this book is to help people with chronic illness explore healthy ways to live with physical or mental conditions. A healthy way to live with a chronic illness is to seek soundness of body and mind and work to overcome physical and emotional issues. The challenge is to learn how to function at your best regardless of the difficulties living with a chronic condition can present. The goal is to achieve the things you want to do and to get pleasure from life. That is what this book is all about.
Fishman's Pulmonary Diseases and Disorders, 2-Volume Set, 6th Edition. 2023. by 
Kendig and Wilmott’s Disorders of the Respiratory Tract in Children, 10th ed. 2024. by 
Lung Cancer: An Evidence-Based Approach to Multi-disciplinary Management, 2024. by 
Mechanical Ventilation, 2020. by 
Murray and Nadel's Textbook of Respiratory Medicine, 2-Volume Set, 7th ed. 2022. by 
Practical Guide to Interventional Pulmonology, 2023. by 
Rare and Interstitial Lung Diseases: Clinical Cases and Real World Discussions, 2025. by 
Respiratory Care: Principles and Practice, 4th ed. 2021. by 
Respiratory Critical Care, 2021. by 
Fill out the appropriate form and save it.
Click on the envelope to email and attach your request form.
Eileen M. Anderson
Library Technician
eileen.m.anderson22.civ@health.mil
571-231-2540